Home » Snacks » Is Twix Vegan-Friendly?

Is Twix Vegan-Friendly?

Twix is a caramel shortbread chocolate bar made by Mars, Inc., consisting of a biscuit applied with other confectionery toppings and coatings (most frequently caramel and milk chocolate).

Twix is packaged with one, two, or four bars in a wrapper, the new slogan for Twix is “Try both. Pick aside.” Miniature and other variations of Twix bars are also available

Chocolate snacks like Twix would be a great treat for you to have a munch here and there, but you need to know if it is vegan-friendly.  Twix often encourages you to pick a side because each package has two versions of the chocolate bar.

On the left side, they have a  caramel-stuffed cookie that is lathered with chocolate while on the right side you will find a cookie bathed with caramel and cloaked in milk chocolate. But can we even pick Twix to be on our vegan team? Continue reading to find out. 

Is Twix Vegan?

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, Twix has ingredients that are sourced from animals such as milk and its derivatives. It also contains ingredients that expose animals to cruelty such as palm oil and artificial flavor. 

What Is Twix Chocolate Bar Made Of?


Twix Candy Bar is made from the following ingredients: Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin, PGPR, Artificial Flavors), Sugar, Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil and/or Palm Oil, Corn Syrup, Skim Milk, Dextrose, Less than 2% – Salt, Cocoa Powder, Baking Soda, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor.

Nutritional Facts

Twix Nutrition Facts

Why Is Twix Not Suitable for Vegans?

Twix is not vegan-friendly as they contain animal-sourced ingredients such as milk and milk derivatives. Milk is a by-product of animals that is mainly taken from cows.  Skim milk, lactose, and milk fat are all derivatives of milk and are not suitable for vegans to have.

Not only does the chocolate bar have animal by-products, but it also has products that expose animals to cruelty. Palm oil is vegan-friendly in that it is not sourced from animals. However, the mass production of palm oil has caused several areas in tropical countries to be deforested to make way for palm plants. This has disturbed the natural habitats of many animals, leaving them homeless. 

However, the parent company of Twix, Mars is a member of the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO), an organization that commits to sourcing palm oil sustainably. This involves using palm oil that has not been produced from palm plantations which have disrupted ecosystems. So, it may be of comfort to vegans concerned about the welfare of animals that the company is at least not a part of the harm done to animals in this way. 

The artificial flavors also expose animals to cruelty. They have to be tested on animals before they can be considered safe for humans to eat. These tests often cause severe side effects on these animals and they end up having to be euthanized. Vegans who are interested in the safety of animals should avoid products with ingredients containing artificial flavors.

Final Thoughts

Twix is not vegan-friendly. The milk in the product makes it unsuitable for vegans to eat. Plus artificial flavors expose animals to cruelty. Take heart though, there are plenty of vegan snacks out there for you to enjoy. 

For more info: https://www.twix.com

Leave a Comment