Home » Drink » Is Powerade Vegan-Friendly?

Is Powerade Vegan-Friendly?

You may be wondering if Powerade is vegan-friendly. With a drink that is fortified with vitamins and minerals, it’s easy to see you taking a swig or two during workouts. You also could simply want a delicious, thirst-quenching drink to refresh you. They come in a wide variety of flavors, some of which include:

Powerade Energy Sports Drink
Powerade Energy Sports Drink
  • Mountain Berry Blast
  • Fruit Punch
  • Grape
  • Orange
  • Lemon Lime
  • White Cherry
  • Strawberry Lemonade
  • Melon
  • Citrus Passionfruit
  • Twisted Blackberry
  • Watermelon Strawberry Wave
  • Tropical Mango
  • Kiwi Pineapple
  • Lemonade

But can it be included in your vegan diet? Continue reading to find out. 

Is Powerade Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

Powerade is vegan-friendly as it contains no animal products in its ingredients. It does however include Red 40 as an ingredient that exposes animals to cruelty. 

What is Powerade Made Of?

Ingredients

Powerade is made from the following ingredients: Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Less Than 0.5% Of: Citric Acid, Natural Flavors, Salt, And Magnesium Chloride And Calcium Chloride And Mono-Potassium Phosphate (Electrolyte Sources), Modified Food Starch, Glycerol Ester Of Rosin, Calcium Disodium EDTA(To Protect Color), Medium Chain Triglycerides, Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin), Red 40, Ascorbic Acid (To Protect Taste).

Nutritional Facts

Is Powerade Vegan – Nutritional Facts

Why is Powerade Vegan-Friendly?

Powerade is vegan-friendly as there are no animal-sourced ingredients in the drink. The Great Britain Website for Coca-Cola, the maker of Powerade, provides a list of their drinks that are not vegan friendly. Powerade was not listed among them. They also state that the majority of their drinks are suitable for vegans because they don’t contain animal derivatives. 

The People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has also included the drink in its “Definitive List of Vegan Milk, Soda, and More.” 

Despite PETA’s proclamations though, Powerade does include Red 40 which exposes animals to cruelty. The FDA has as a requirement that, before artificial colors like Red 40 can get approval to be included in food and drink, they have to be tested for human safety. These tests are done on animals who are later euthanized as the tests often bring about fatal side effects. Ethical vegans that are concerned with the welfare of animals will often avoid food that includes artificial colors. 

Despite this, Coca-Cola has made the environment safer for animals in other ways. The company has, so far, made eighty-eight percent of their packaging recyclable globally and intends to have this percentage increase to one hundred by 2025. More recyclable packaging means fewer plastics ending up in the ocean, harming our animals and polluting our beaches. 

Final Thoughts – Can Vegans Drink Powerade?

Powerade may just be the drink for you! It is vegan-friendly as it contains no animal products and the parent company is doing its part to help the earth fight climate change and to reduce how much sea animals have to suffer because of plastic. They do, however, have artificial colors like red 40 present which is not animal-cruelty free. So this may be a reason for you not to have a drink. But for dietary vegans, this drink is perfect for you.

For more info: https://www.powerade.com

Leave a Comment