Home » Snacks » Is Orbit Gum Vegan-Friendly?

Is Orbit Gum Vegan-Friendly?

Orbit is a brand of chewing gum manufactured by the Wrigley Company in the United States. Orbit chewing gum is sold in many different flavors all over the world. Some of the popular flavors are:

  • Peppermint
  • Spearmint
  • Eucalyptus
  • Mint
  • Strawberry
  • Sweet Mint

Orbit chewing gum does not only taste great but it is sugar-free and also promises to give your mouth a refreshingly clean feel and taste. Wrigley also has Orbit White, which promises to keep teeth white, and Orbit for Kids which is aimed towards children and comes in various flavors.

The question that remains now is if Orbit gum is vegan-friendly or not.

Is Orbit Chewing Gum Vegan?

The answer is: No

Orbit chewing gum has some ingredients that may be a cause for concern for some vegans. These are glycerol, artificial flavors and natural flavors.

What is Orbit Chewing Gum Made Of?

Orbit Gum Flavors
Orbit Gum Flavors

Ingredients

Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Natural and Artificial Flavors; Less than 2% of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame, Mannitol, Acesulfame K, Soy Lecithin, Xylitol, Colors (Blue 1 Lake, Beta-Carotene) and BHT.

Why is Orbit Chewing Gum Not Vegan?

Glycerol can be derived from three sources namely animal fats, vegetable oils and petroleum. Glycerol derived from animal fats comes from animal triglycerides. Glycerol may also be sourced from plant lipids. Glycerol taken from plants is often listed as vegetable glycerine in ingredient lists. Glycerol may also be synthetically generated in laboratories through chemical reactions with petroleum.

While artificial flavors are not derived from animal products, they may be tested on animals. This is a controversial subject for vegans and may be a no-go area ethically.

Natural flavors are not only limited to plant sources, they may also be derived from animal products such as meat, seafood, poultry, eggs and dairy products. Although it is not confirmed that the natural flavors in Orbit gum are sourced from animals, it is always better to be careful.

Mars Inc, which owns Orbit, is committing to practicing various sustainability and environmentally-friendly practices. These include replacing plastic materials with more eco-friendly materials and also heading towards a more vegan-friendly direction. It is refreshing to see companies being more aware of their contribution to the environment and take initiative to reduce their carbon footprint.

Final Thoughts

Because it is not confirmed that the glycerol, artificial and natural flavors found in Orbit chewing gum are not from animal sources, it is not 100% confirmed that the product is vegan. We therefore recommend that you rather opt for gum that is confirmed to be vegan.

For more information on this Orbit Chewing Gum, please visit www.mars.com.

Leave a Comment