Home » Drink » Is Nesquik Powder Vegan-Friendly?

Is Nesquik Powder Vegan-Friendly?

Nesquik is a brand under the famous Nestle company. Nesquik was created as an easy and innovative way to get children to drink milk. It began as chocolate-flavored powdered milkshake mix in 1948 and has since evolved into various flavors such as:

  • Nesquik Banana Powder
  • Nesquik Strawberry Powder
  • Nesquik Vanilla Powder

This milkshake has no artificial colorants and is aimed towards young children. This drink is quickly made by adding three heaped teaspoons to 200ml of milk and can be consumed hot or cold. 

Nesquik contains Vitamin D which helps to absorb calcium and it also contains Iron and Zinc which help with improving cognitive function. 

Are you curious to find out if Nesquik Powder Drink Mix is vegan-friendly? Let us find out.

Is Nesquik Powder Vegan?

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, Nesquik is not suitable for vegans. This is because Nesquik contains sugar and biotin and natural flavor. The packaging also clearly states through a disclaimer that it may also contain milk. 

This is disappointing news for all vegans and you may be wondering what exactly makes this product not vegan.

What is Nesquik Powder Made Of?

Ingredients

Sugar, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Less than 2% of Soy Lecithin, Carrageenan, Salt, Natural Flavor, Spice, Monk Fruit Extract. Vitamins and Minerals: Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Ferric Pyrophosphate (Iron), Niacinamide, Copper Gluconate, Zinc Oxide, Manganese Sulfate, Thiamine Hydrochloride, Biotin.

Nesquick Classic

Why is Nesquik Powder Not Vegan-Friendly?

Well, as we mentioned earlier, Nesquik contains some problematic ingredients that are not suitable for vegans, with the obvious ingredient being milk. Milk is a direct animal byproduct and is definitely not vegan. However, the other ingredients are more ambiguous. 

Sugar seems like a vegan product because it does come from a plant. However, there is more to it than meets the eye. Most commercialized sugar is from sugar canes and is filtered using bone char so that it archives that white color. Bone char is animal bones, commonly cow bones, that have been burned at an extremely high temperature until it becomes a powder-like substance. Although the sugar does not contain any bone char particles, the fact that it comes into contact with it renders it non-vegan. 

Biotin can be found in animal-derived products such as chicken, eggs, and dairy. However, it can also be found in plant-derived products such as nuts and wholewheat.

Natural flavor can be sourced from plants or animals.

Final Thoughts 

Nesquik is not a vegan-friendly product because it contains non-vegan ingredients such as sugar, milk, natural flavors, and biotin. It is best that vegans rather seek out more vegan-friendly alternatives to Nesquik.

For more information, please visit https://www.goodnes.com/nesquik/ and www.nestle.com.

Leave a Comment