Home » Drink » Is Monster Vegan-Friendly?

Is Monster Vegan-Friendly?

Ever wanted to know if Monster Energy Drink is vegan-friendly?

Monster Energy is an energy drink introduced by Hansen Natural Company (now Monster Beverage Corporation) in April of 2002. Monster has over 34 different flavors, including:

  • Regular Monster
  • Rehab
  • Ultra Juice
  • Java
  • Punch
  • Muscle
  • Maxx

It is popular among young people as it increases energy and boosts mental and physical performance. So now, let’s see if Monster is vegan-friendly or not… 

Is Monster Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: No

No. Monster energy drink is not vegan friendly. It contains Taurine, natural flavors, and artificial color.

What Is Monster Energy Drink Made Of?

Nutrition Facts

Monster Energy Drink Nutrition Facts


Monster Energy Drink is made from the following ingredients:

‘Carbonated Water, Sugar, Glucose, Citric Acid, Natural Flavors, Taurine, Sodium Citrate, Color Added, Panax Ginseng Extract, L-carnitine L-tartrate, Caffeine, Sorbic Acid (Preservative), Benzoic Acid (Preservative), Niacinamide (Vit. B3), Sucralose, Salt, D-glucuronolactone, Inositol, Guarana Extract, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vit. B6), Riboflavin (Vit. B2), Maltodextrin, Cyanocobalamin (Vit. B12).’

Why Is Monster Not Vegan-Friendly?

Monster is not vegan friendly because it has an animal-derived product called Taurine. It also consists of natural flavors as well as artificial colors which are derived from both animal and plant sources.

Here is details breakdown of each of these key ingredients which mean that Monster Energy Drink is not vegan friendly.


Taurine is an organic compound that mainly forms a component of the bile. Bile is a dark-to-green-to-yellowish-brown fluid produced by most vertebrate’s liver. It aids the digestion of lipids in the small intestine. Likewise, Taurine is present in meat, fish, dairy products, and human milk. The connection of Taurine with animal products makes it unsuitable for a vegan diet.

Natural flavors

Natural flavors originate from animals and plants. They are used to add flavor to food. Monster has not indicated which natural flavors they have included in their energy drink. It, therefore, makes vegans hesitant to approve Monster Energy Drink as vegan friendly.

Food coloring

Artificial food coloring is a chemical reaction that creates different types of dyes. They do not contain any traces of animal products and can be considered vegan. However, most food coloring companies encourage animal testing. Vegans term this practice as cruel.

Top 10 Untold truths about Monster Energy Drinks

Final Thoughts – Can Vegans Drink Monster?

The Monster drink is popular among teenagers and young adults as it increases mental alertness and physical performance. However, Monster is not vegan friendly since it contains Taurine, natural flavors, and artificial food coloring. 

These ingredients contain animal products as well as artificial food colors that encourage animal testing. Thus, Monster is not suitable for vegans to drink.

For more information about Monster, visit their website: https://www.monsterenergy.com

Leave a Comment