Home » Restaurant Options » Is McDonald’s Apple Pie Vegan-Friendly?

Is McDonald’s Apple Pie Vegan-Friendly?

McDonald’s first-ever dessert has become the favorite of many with its juicy filling and thick crunchy crust. Its delicious flavor McDonald’s Apple Pie is the product of six different types of apples. But they come together to make one delectable dessert. But can a vegan diet take a slice out of this pie? Continue reading to find out.

Is McDonald’s Apple Pie Vegan?

The answer is: Yes!

Yes. There are no animal-sourced ingredients included in this pastry. However, there are ethical concerns over the use of palm oil.

What Are Mcdonalds Apple Pie Made Of?

Mcdonalds Apple Pie


The ingredients are: Apples (Apples, Ascorbic Acid, Salt, Citric Acid), Enriched Flour (Bleached Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Sugar, Palm Oil, Water, Apple Juice Concentrate, Modified Food Starch, Invert Syrup, Contains 2% or Less: Yeast, Salt, Cinnamon, Sunflower Lecithin, L-cysteine (Dough Conditioner), Yeast Extract, Enzyme, Beta-carotene (Color).

Why are Mcdonalds Apple Pie Vegan?

The ingredients in McDonald’s Apple Pie don’t include animal products. So, it is safe for vegans to eat. However, the Palm Oil contained in the pastry is of ethical concern to vegans. Although it is vegan, it exposes animals to cruelty. The mass production of Palm Oil has led to deforestation in various areas in tropical countries. This has caused many animals to lose their homes. 

McDonald’s Corporate has however advised that palm oil sourced for McDonald’s is sustainably produced through deforestation-free supply chains.

 The McDonald’s website has also advised that the apple pies are “cooked in dedicated frying vats” in order to prevent cross-contamination. However, they also state that although the ingredients are free from animal sources, there is a small chance that the oil used to fry the apple pie comes into contact with the oil used to cook fish and chicken.

The UK is one of the few countries with possible oil contamination. Most other countries, including the U.S., have stopped frying apple pies since 1992. The pies are baked in America. However, McDonald’s US has also advised that they use shared equipment for their products. It also leaves a possibility for cross-contamination. 

Final Thoughts

Currently, the dessert is McDonald’s only vegan menu item. This will soon change though, as the restaurant has already begun trial runs of their McPlant Burger in Denmark and Sweden. It is McDonald’s first plant-based burger that the restaurant promises to launch this year.  

McDonald’s Apple Pies are vegan-friendly as they have no animal-sourced ingredients. They however have Palm Oil in them which is of great ethical concern for vegans. Although the ingredients are vegan-friendly, McDonald’s has warned of possible cross-contamination. If these are small concerns for you, then you’re welcome to have a slice or two of the apple-filled pastry.

For more information head over to: https://www.mcdonalds.com

Leave a Comment