Home » Food » Is Marmite Vegan-Friendly?

Is Marmite Vegan-Friendly?

Are you wondering if Marmite is vegan-friendly?

Marmite is a food spread that is made from yeast extract that is leftover from beer brewing. You can have it as a quick snack on bread or biscuits or even add a few spoons to your pot so you can add some unique flavors to your sauces and jellies. But can Marmite be the new addition to your vegan diet? Continue reading to find out. 

Is Marmite Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

There are no animal-sourced ingredients in Marmite, which makes it suitable for vegans to have. 

What Is Marmite Made Of?


Marmite is made from the following ingredients: yeast, sugar, salt, mineral salt (potassium chloride), caramel color, corn maltodextrin, minerals (iron), vitamins (niacin, thiamin, riboflavin, folate, B12), herbs, and spices.

Nutritonal Facts

Marmite Nutrition Facts - Calories, Carbs and Health-Benefits
Marmite Nutrition Facts – Calories, Carbs and Health-Benefits

Why Is Marmite Vegan-Friendly?

There are no animal-based products included in Marmite.  What’s more, Marmite has confirmed this in the FAQ section of their website by stating that the entire Marmite range is vegan. They further explain that it is certified by the European Vegetarian Union except for their 70g jar which they are in the process of getting certified.

Marmite is a great option for vegans because it is fortified with vitamin B12. As plants don’t produce this supplement, vegans have to take supplements to gain B12 benefits. Vitamin B12 improves memory and energy levels. So, we know it’s great news when we tell you that a teaspoon of Marmite gives you 25% of your recommended daily intake for B12.

That being said, take care not to have too much marmite in a day. A serving of Marmite gives you 166 mg of salt which adds up to 7% of your daily intake that is recommended by the American Heart Association. High amounts of salt in your diet may lead to a road of health issues like hypertension and heart diseases. It’s best to limit the amount of this spread you eat per day.

In 2019, Unilever, the makers of Marmite announced their plans to reduce the amount of new plastic they use by 50% by 20205. This will result in more than 100,000 tonnes of plastic packaging being cut for production. This move allows for safer beaches and one more step toward saving our world from the effects of climate change. 

Final Thought

Marmite is vegan-friendly. You can safely add this delicious spread to your bread, crackers, and biscuits. What’s more, it is a great source of vitamin B12. We approve of any vegan snack that gives us both flavors and vitamins. Take note of how much you eat per day though because the sodium content is high. As long as you use it in moderate amounts, you can definitely have this in your fridge for those quick snacks. 

People Try Marmite For The First Time

For more information: https://www.marmite.co.uk/

Leave a Comment