Home » Uncategorized » Is Lactaid Vegan-Friendly?

Is Lactaid Vegan-Friendly?

Would you like to find out if Lactaid is vegan-friendly and can be incorporated into your vegan lifestyle?

Lactaid is an innovative brand that manufactures products that are aimed towards lactose-intolerant people. They contain lactose which is an enzyme that helps the body digest lactose. They must be taken with the first bite of a dairy product and repeated after 30 minutes if dairy is still being consumed. There are various products under this brand such as:

  • Lactaid Milk
  • Lactaid Calcium Enriched Milk
  • Lactaid Protein Milk
  • Lactaid Chocolate Milk
  • Lactaid Ice Cream
  • Lactaid Dietary Supplements
  • Lactaid Cottage Cheese
  • Lactaid Eggnog
Lactaid

Lactaid is fresh milk from cows that have not been treated with artificial growth hormones. It is 100% milk and easily digestible because it does not contain lactose. This product is great for people with lactose intolerance but is it great for vegans. Continue reading to find out.

Is Lactaid Vegan?

The answer is: No

Lactaid is not vegan-friendly because it contains animal byproducts such as milk and vitamin D3. Some products also contain sugar, cream, and natural and artificial flavors. 

Why is Lactaid Not Vegan?

Lactaid milk contains milk and vitamin D3. Milk is an animal byproduct and is not vegan-friendly. Vitamin D3 may be derived from lanolin or lichen. Lanolin is sheep’s wool and vitamin D3 derived from this source is not vegan-friendly. 

Other Lactaid products contain sugar, cream and natural and artificial flavors. Sugar is commonly processed using bone char, an animal byproduct. Sugar processed using bone char is not vegan. Cream is made from milk and is also not vegan.

Natural flavors may be sourced from animals or plants. It is unclear where Lactaid sources its natural flavors. Artificial flavor is more controversial because it is not technically vegan, however, some artificial flavors are tested on animals.

Final Thoughts

Lactaid is a great brand for lactose-intolerant people who still wish to enjoy dairy. This brand offers the same dairy taste but with no side effects. Unfortunately, Lactaid is not vegan-friendly because it is a dairy product and contains milk, as well as other animal-derived ingredients such as vitamin D3, sugar, cream, and natural and artificial ingredients.

Vegans who wish to consume milk and milk products should look into dairy-free alternatives such as oat milk and almond milk products. 

For more information on Lactaid and Lactaid products, please visit the official website on www.lactaid.com.

Leave a Comment