Wondering is Kellogg’s Corn Flakes is Vegan-Friendly?
Kellogg’s Corn Flakes has been a staple breakfast cereal in many households since they were first manufactured in 1906. Corn flakes have progressed from being just cereal and can also be incorporated into various recipes to make delicious recipes and treats.
This brand prides itself on being health conscious and having low calorie intake in their breakfast cereals but just how healthy are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes? Continue reading to find out.
Table of Contents
Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Vegan?
The answer is: No
Unfortunately, these crispy flakes of goodness are not completely vegan-friendly although they may be advertised as such on some websites. This is due to 3 main ingredients that vegans must be aware of: sugar, vitamin D3, and vitamin B12.
Let us dig a little deeper to find out why corn flakes are not for vegan consumption.
What Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Made Of?
Kellogg’s Corn Flakes are made from the following ingredients: Milled corn, sugar, malt flavor, contains 2% or less of salt, iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.
What Is Kellogg’s Cornflakes Not Vegan?
There are three ingredients in this cereal that may raise red flags: sugar, vitamin D3 and vitamin B12.
The process of refining sugar from sugar canes begins when the sugar canes are crushed and the juice is separated from the pulp. This is then filtered and bleached with bone char which is what gives sugar its white color. Bone char is made from charring animal bones. The contact with bone char is what makes refined white sugar not vegan. However, not all sugar is refined this way so some sugar may be vegan, although the most common type is not.
Vitamin D3 is sourced from lanolin, which is derived from sheep’s wool, or lichen which comes from algae or fungus. Kellogg’s has indicated that the vitamin D3 found in their products is derived from animals.
Vitamin B12 is mainly derived from animal products such as fish, meat, poultry, eggs and dairy products.
So, although Kellogg’s makes a great effort to be healthy and environmentally friendly, their corn flakes are not completely vegan-friendly. Some vegans may choose to overlook the questionable ingredients because of the insignificant amounts found in the products but it is always better to make an informed decision.
If you would like to find out more about Kellogg’s Corn Flakes, please visit the official website on www.kelloggs.com.