Home » Restaurant Options » Is Jack in the Box Tacos Vegan-Friendly?

Is Jack in the Box Tacos Vegan-Friendly?

If you’re wondering whether Jack in the Box can host your next Taco Tuesdays we’re here to give you the details.

The restaurant’s Tacos is more popular for its steal of a price for two than its taste. It’s a practical menu option if you’ve grown tired of the regular burgers and fries combos out there. But can it be eaten on a vegan-friendly diet? Continue reading to find out. 

Are Jack In the Box Tacos Vegan? 

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, the only part of the tacos that are vegan-friendly is the tortilla shell. The fillings and cheese contain animal-sourced ingredients such as beef, milk, and cream. The product also has artificial flavors which expose animals to cruelty. 

Why Are Jack-In the Box Tacos Made Of?

Jack in the Box Tacos
Jack in the Box Tacos

Taco Regular Filling Ingredients: Beef, Water, Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Flour, Caramel Color), Defatted Soy Grits, Seasoning [Chili Pepper, Corn Maltodextrin, Spices, Bleached Enriched Wheat Flour (Contains Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid), Salt, Garlic Powder, Hydrolyzed (Corn, Soy, Wheat) Proteins, Monosodium Glutamate, Onion Powder, Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Succinic Acid], Salt, Tomato Paste, Worcestershire Sauce (Distilled Vinegar, Molasses, Corn Syrup, Water, Salt, Caramel Color, Garlic Powder, Sugar, Spices, Tamarind, Natural Flavor, Sulfiting Agent). 

Tortillas Ingredients: Ground Corn, Water, Lime. Cooked in Canola Blend Frying Oil. Taco Sauce: Water, Tomato Paste, Distilled Vinegar, Salt, Chili Peppers, Modified Food Starch, Dextrose, Maltodextrin, Spices including Paprika, Xanthan Gum, Dehydrated Garlic, Sodium Benzoate and Potassium Sorbate (added as preservatives), Citric Acid, Monosodium Glutamate, Dehydrated Onion, Beet Powder, Caramel Color.

Cheese American: Cultured Milk and Skim Milk, Water, Cream, Sodium Citrate, Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Sorbic Acid (preservative), Citric Acid, Artificial Color, Acetic Acid, Enzymes, Soy Lecithin. lettuce.

Why Are Jack-In the Box Tacos Not Vegan-Friendly?

Jack In The Box Tacos are not vegan-friendly as they have animal-sourced ingredients.

Beef is an animal product that comes from cows. It is not suitable for vegans to eat. Also, Cultured Milk, Skimmed Milk, and Cream are all milk-based products. These are some of the ingredients used to make the American Cheese for the tacos. 

Cream is made from the higher-layer yellow fat from the top of unhomogenized milk. These ingredients are by-products of cows which make them unsuitable for vegans to consume. 

Natural flavors can either be made from plant-based products or animal-based products. When natural flavors are animal-sourced, they contain meat, fish, eggs, or any combination of the three. Jack in the Box has not verified which of the sources they are made from. However, the uncertainty is enough for strict vegetarians to avoid having products containing this ingredient. 

Artificial Colors are vegan-friendly in that they don’t contain animal-sourced ingredients. However, they pose ethical concerns, especially for the vegan community. These dyes have to be tested on animals before they can be certified safe for humans to eat. These animals are later euthanized as they sometimes develop fatal side effects as a result of the testing. Vegans who are for the protection of animals will avoid foods with artificial colors. 

Conclusion

Jack in the Box

Jack in the Box Tacos is not Vegan-friendly. They contain animal-sourced products such as beef, milk, and cream. They also have ingredients that expose animals to cruelty. It is not an appropriate product for the vegan community. But don’t worry about it. I’m sure we can find somewhere else to host our Taco Tuesdays!

For more information go to: https://www.jackinthebox.com

Leave a Comment