Is this creamy buttery spread vegan-friendly? Let’s find out…
I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is a low-cost alternative to butter. It is a tub of margarine known for its creamy, buttery taste and is ideal for spreading and baking.
I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is available in 5 different flavors:
- The Original
- Olive Oil
- Original European Blend
It has authentic plant-based ingredients such as Soybean oil and Palm oil. Are you curious to know if it is vegan friendly? Let us jump in!
Is I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: NO
Unfortunately, I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is not vegan-friendly. While there is no visible animal product in it, palm oil and natural flavor make it non-vegan. The production of palm oil is associated with animal cruelty and environmental hazard. Additionally, natural flavor is an extract of either plants or animals. It is not clear which of the two sources is in effect.
What Is I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Made Out Of?
- Purified Water
- Soybean Oil
- Palm & Palm Kernel Oil
- Lecithin (Soy)
- Natural Flavor
- Vitamin A Palmitate
- Beta Carotene (Color)
Why Is I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Not Vegan-Friendly?
Ideally, many people think I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is vegan, but it is not. Specifically, the presence of Palm oil and natural flavors marks the margarine as non-vegan.
The production of palm oil is known to harm rain forests and ecological diversity. Loggers constantly cut down acres of trees to make way for palm oil plantations.
Moreover, the wildlife is greatly affected. As a result, animals such as Orangutans and Sumatran tigers face the risk of extinction.
Natural flavors can be derived from either animals and plants and later processed in a lab. I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter has not specified its source of natural flavors hence the hesitation of it being vegan friendly.
I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter is a butter substitute that is ideal for spreading and baking. Many consider it vegan because it is plant-based. However, ingredients such as palm oil and natural flavors make it not vegan-friendly. Whereas palm oil is from the vegan palm fruit, its production adopts cruel practices. Besides, the source of natural flavor used is not listed.
Find out more about I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter here: https://www.icantbelieveitsnotbutter.com/