Are you wondering if Hershey’s Dark Chocolate is vegan-friendly?
Well lighten up, we’ll help you with those dark chocolate thoughts. They are different from regular Milk Chocolate because the percentage of cocoa contained in them is higher. It also contains a higher percentage of chocolate liquor and cocoa butter. But how much percent of it is vegan-friendly? Continue reading to find out.
Is Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: No
No. Unfortunately, Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate won’t lighten the mood at your next vegan-friendly party. The chocolate bar contains animal-sourced products.
What Is Hershey Dark Chocolate Made Of?
Hershey’s Dark Chocolate is made from the following ingredients: Sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, cocoa processed with alkali, milk fat, lactose (milk), soy lecithin, PGPR, emulsifier, vanillin, artificial flavor, milk.
Why is Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Bad for Vegans?
One of the ingredients in the Special Dark Chocolate is milk. Milk, of course, is an animal by-product. This makes the chocolate bar unsuitable for a vegan diet.
But hold on vegan chocolate lovers, hope is on the horizon. Hershey’s company has recently released news that it will be working on varieties of chocolate that everyone can enjoy.
One of the varieties of products that they will be starting with is the Special Dark Chocolate! Hershey’s Company has teamed up with a natural sweetener company to invest in Bonumose Inc. This is “a start-up with breakthrough innovations in plant-based food ingredients”.
Hershey’s isn’t only investing in their plant-based options. They have also invested in a better future for the environment. They have already blown past their commitment in 2015 to reduce their packaging weight by 25 million pounds by 2025.
They are also on track to making 100% of their plastic packaging recyclable, reusable or compostable by 2030. That’s a literal breath of fresh air from all our animals out there in danger of plastic suffocation.
It’s unfortunate, but for now, Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate is not vegan-friendly. They contain milk, an animal-sourced product. But as companies start to move towards wider varieties for all customers, plans are in the works to create more plant-based products. So don’t let it darken your day. Until then, there are many other vegan-friendly chocolate goodies out there for you to enjoy!
For more information: https://www.hersheyland.com