Home » Food » Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan-Friendly?

Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan-Friendly?

Have you been wondering if Heinz Tomato Ketchup is vegan-friendly?

Heinz promises that each bottle of ketchup has the juiciest of their ripe tomatoes. It can be used on your favorite side dishes, burgers, or sandwiches. It is also often used as the base for sauces and dips. The company has its tomato ketchup in three other flavors: Sriracha, Jalapeno, and Balsamic Vinegar.

The brand has become a favorite of many. So much so that it is tattooed onto the left arm of famous singer Ed-Sheeran! But can we tattoo the ketchup into our vegan diet? Continue reading to find out. 

Is Heinz Tomato Ketchup Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: Yes

Heinz Tomato Ketchup has no ingredients from animal sources. 

Why is Heinz Tomato Ketchup Vegan-Friendly?

The ingredients on a bottle of Heinz Tomato Ketchup slightly differ between regions.

In the UK-made brand, the ingredients are: 

Tomatoes, Spirit Vinegars, Sugar, Salt, Spice and Herbs Extract and Spice. The UK Website has made it clear that ketchup is safe for vegetarians and vegans to eat. They have also added that it is free from palm oil, gluten, artificial colors, and flavors. 

In the US-made brand the ingredients are: 

Tomato Concentrate, Distilled Vinegar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Spice, Onion Powder, and Natural Flavoring. Natural Flavoring will be of concern to some vegans. This is because they sometimes come from animal sources. Animal-sourced natural flavorings often come from dairy products, meat, poultry, or seafood. Because of the uncertainty, many vegans will opt to avoid having ketchup.

PETA has pointed out that at one point Heinz stated on their website that “Heinz ketchup has never contained any animal products” and that the FDA’s requirements would not allow a product with animal ingredients to be labeled as ketchup.

How Heinz Tomato Ketchup Is Made

FInal Thoughts

The great thing about Heinz Tomato Ketchup is that its bottles are made with PET plastic. This material is the most recycled plastic worldwide. They are doing their part in making the environment better for ourselves and our animals. 

Depending on the region, Heinz tomato Ketchup is safe for vegans. The UK version has stated that it is vegan-friendly. The US version however has not revealed the content of the “natural flavor” in the ingredients. Vegans however can decide whether it is enough for them to avoid the condiment. So, if you want, leave out a bottle on the table for you and your loved ones to enjoy!

For more information, head over to the official website here: https://www.heinz.com/products/heinztomatoketchup

Leave a Comment