Home » Food » Is Heinz Salad Cream Vegan-Friendly?

Is Heinz Salad Cream Vegan-Friendly?

Heinz Salad Cream is one of Britain’s more popular sauces due to its tangy taste. This salad cream has no artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. It is suitable for the vegetarian diet and can be enjoyed with a variety of dishes such as barbecues, salads, and wraps.

But is the Heinz Salad Cream vegan-friendly? Let us find out.

Is Heinz Salad Cream Vegan? 

The answer is: No ( but there is a vegan option)

Heinz Salad Cream Original flavor is not vegan-friendly. It contains water, spirit, vinegar, rapeseed oil, sugar, cornflour, mustard powder, pasteurized egg yolks, salt, and riboflavin. Pasteurized egg yolks are not suitable for the vegan diet hence this product is not vegan-friendly.

Why Is Heinz Salad Cream Not Vegan-Friendly?

Heinz Salad Cream contains pasteurized egg yolks. Pasteurization is the process of heating food to 140°F in order to kill harmful bacteria. This allows them to be safely used in recipes that call for raw egg yolks. 

Although Heinz Salad Cream is not vegan, there is an alternative that is vegan-friendly: Heinz Vegan Salad Cream.

Heinz Vegan Salad Cream

Heinz Vegan Salad Cream has the same tangy taste that the Original flavor has, but with only vegan ingredients. This product has water, rapeseed oil, sugar, spirit vinegar, modified starch, mustard powder, salt, and riboflavin. These ingredients are very similar to the Original flavor, but with the absence of pasteurized egg yolks. 

Sugar and riboflavin are commonly problematic to the vegan diet. This is because bone char is used in the processing of sugar. Bone char is made from animal bones, primarily cow bones, that have been heated to extremely high temperatures. This is what gives sugar its white color.

Riboflavin is a type of B vitamin. It is involved in many bodily processes and is required for normal cell growth and function. It is found in foods like milk, meat, eggs, nuts, enriched flour, and green vegetables. It is also frequently found in vitamin B complex products in combination with other B vitamins. Because this product is vegan, we can safely say that the sugar and riboflavin used are vegan-friendly as well.

Final Thoughts

Heinz Salad Cream is not vegan-friendly because it contains pasteurized egg yolks. However, this brand has a vegan-friendly alternative that does not contain any animal products that we can happily recommend it.

For more information please visit the Heinz website: https://www.heinz.co.uk.

Leave a Comment