Home » Drink » Is Heineken Vegan-Friendly?

Is Heineken Vegan-Friendly?

Every so often we might want to reach into the refrigerator and pull out a refreshing, cool beer.

Heineken is one of the more popular premium beers and was first manufactured in 1864 in Holland and is now distributed in 192 countries around the world.

What sets Heineken apart from other beer brands is that it prides itself in brewing with 100% natural ingredients and going through complex phases of cooking, cooling, fermentation, and lagering. It does not compromise when it comes to using premium ingredients and this may be why it is a favorite amongst many people.

Heineken also has an alcohol-free beer known as Heineken 0.0. This beer is crafted with the same care as the regular beer, but excludes the malt.

With Heineken being proudly natural, the next question we should ask is if it is vegan-friendly?

Is Heineken Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

Heineken beer lovers may rest assured knowing that their favorite beer is in fact vegan. This is because the beer contains three main ingredients which are barley, hops, and water.

What is Heineken Beer Made Of?

Heineken Beer

Heineken Beer is made of the following ingredients:

Malted barley, hop extract, yeast and water.

Why Is Heineken Vegan?

Heineken is brewed in a laborious and meticulous manner. Firstly, barley is soaked and then gently heated so that it may dry out over some days in a process known as malting. Water is then mixed with the malted barley to create a sugary liquid which is subsequently boiled and hops are added to enrich the flavor.

 When the right temperature has been reached, Heineken’s A-Yeast is added. This starts the fermentation process which converts  the sugary liquid into alcohol and CO2. The liquid is fermented in horizontal fermentation tanks which adds to the flavor.

This whole process is completed over 28 days. All these ingredients are not derived from animal sources which is why Heineken Beer is vegan-friendly.

Heineken is environmentally conscious and 67% of all the barley used by the company and 97% of the hops comes from sustainable farming. Heineken 0.0 is brewed in a similar manner but an additional step is followed. The alcohol is removed with vacuum distillation and then blended.

15 Things You Didn’t Know About Heineken

15 Things You Didn’t Know About Heineken

Final Thoughts – Can Vegans Drink Heineken?

With three main ingredients, it is easy to see how Heineken beer is vegan-friendly. Consumers may enjoy Heineken freely without having to worry about the ingredients. Vegans can drink Heineken beer.

Heineken has taken a significant amount of effort to ensure that they are eco-friendly while not compromising on taste or quality.

For more information on Heineken, please visit www.heineken.com.

Leave a Comment