Are you wondering if Fun Dip is vegan-friendly?
Nothing brings us back to our childhood that candy we grew up munching on and Fun Dip is one of those sweets. With tasty flavors like cherry, grape, and raspberry to choose from and an interesting twist to eating the candy, children are never bored of this sweet treat. But is it vegan-friendly? Continue reading to find out.
Is Fun Dip Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: Yes
Fun Dip has no ingredients that come from animal sources which makes it suitable for vegans to “lick, dip, and repeat.”
What is Fun Dip Candy Made Out Of?
Fun Dip is made out of the following ingredients: Cherry: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and less than 2% of Citric Acid, calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Red 40 Lake. RazzApple: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and Less than 2% of Citric Acid, Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5.
Why Is Fun Dip Vegan?
The ingredients in Fun Dip are free from animal sources which means vegans are able to enjoy this fun little snack.
The artificial flavors, such as red 40 and yellow 5 are also vegan-friendly, however, they expose animals to cruelty. In order to get the FDA to approve artificial colors as being safe to be included in food for humans, the flavors have to be tested.
These tests are done on animals who are later euthanized as these tests often result in fatal side effects for the animals.
With most candies, you will have to be sure to watch the sugar content. One serving, which is one packet, gives you 11 grams of sugar. This is around 25% of the daily intake that is recommended by the American Heart Association. Consistently eating products high in added sugar may result in serious issues such as diabetes.
Although its health for your body isn’t the best, Ferrara, the company that owns Fun Dip is doing its best for the environment. The company signed a commitment to make all its packaging 100% reusable. Recyclable and compostable by 2025.
Improving the recyclability of products help animals breathe a little easier in the oceans as some of them, like turtles, are prone to suffocate from plastic agents that are disposed of in the water bodies.
There you have it! Fun Dip is the vegan candy that can satisfy that sweet tooth. There are no animal-sourced ingredients in the product. This might be a no go for some vegans who avoid food with artificial colors but we can say for the dietary vegans you can surely enjoy. But don’t enjoy it too much, since it has such a high sugar-content maybe you can have a munch here or there.
For more information head over to the Ferrara Candy Shop.