Are you wondering if Diet Coke is vegan-friendly?
Diet Coke is a sugar-free, no-calorie alternative to the original Coca-Cola. The sweet taste of the beverage comes from artificial sweeteners instead of sugar. From time to time, Diet Coke releases different flavors such as Feisty Cherry, Ginger Lime, and Vanilla.
Its most recent flavors have been Blueberry Acai and Strawberry Guava. They all have one thing in common though. The taste and fizz provide a refreshing addition to snack times, parties, sports games, and many other functions. But can it be a flavorful addition to a vegan diet? Continue reading to find out.
Is Diet Coke Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: Yes
There are no animal-sourced ingredients in the soft drink. Diet Coke has no ingredients that are animal-sourced.
What Is Diet Coke Made Out Of?
Carbonated Water, Caramel Color, Aspartame, Phosphoric Acid, Potassium Benzoate (To Protect Taste), Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Caffeine.
Phenylketonurics: Contains Phenylalanine
No Calories, No Sugar
This product includes ingredients sourced from genetically engineered (GE) crops, commonly known as GMOs.
Why Is Diet Coke Vegan?
The Great Britain Coca-Cola website states in its frequently asked questions that the majority of Coca-Cola drinks are suitable for vegans. They then list all the drinks they produce that are not vegan-friendly. Diet Coke was not listed among them so it is, therefore, safe to assume that Diet Coke is vegan-friendly.
A soft drink with zero calories and no sugar is a plus for any vegan diet. Med-line Plus shows that diet sodas, in general, are healthier than their sugary alternative. A twelve-ounce can of Coca-Cola has 140 calories while a diet coke of the same size holds zero. There are also 10.6 grams of sugar in a regular Coca-Cola, all of which you can avoid by having a Diet Coke instead! It is clearly the healthier choice! Well as far as “healthy” can go for a soft drink.
Not only is it a refreshingly fizzy drink. It is also making refreshing moves in the environment. Coca-Cola has led the charge of making their bottles from recycled materials. Ninety percent of their packaging is recyclable. They have made a commitment to increase this to 100% by 2025.
So, the verdict is in. And it seems that Diet Coke is an animal-free product! So go ahead and pop open a can of the vegan-friendly fizzy drink. It gets a pass in our book!
For more information head over to the official website: https://www.dietcoke.com