Home » Food » Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan-Friendly?

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Vegan-Friendly?

Are you wondering if Cinnamon Toast Crunch is safe for vegans?

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is a breakfast cereal manufactured by General Mills. The cereal is a combination of cinnamon and sugar in a toast format, hence the name. There are other variations of Cinnamon Toast Crunch such as:

  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch Churros
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch Treat Bars
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch Chocolate Churros 
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch Soft Breakfast Bars
  • Remix Cinnamon Toast Crunch Snacking Mix

Continue reading if you would like to find out if Cinnamon Toast Crunch is vegan-friendly.

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal Vegan?

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not vegan-friendly. It contains sugar and also has a disclaimer that says it also contains milk as well. It also has gelatin, an animal byproduct, and vitamin D3. 

What is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Made Of?

What is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Made Of? Nutritional Facts


Whole Grain Wheat, Sugar, Rice Flour, Canola Oil, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Salt, Cinnamon, Trisodium Phosphate, Soy Lecithin, Caramel Color. BHT Added to Preserve Freshness.Contains Wheat and Soy Ingredients

Vitamins and Minerals

Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Why Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Not Vegan?

Cinnamon Crunch Toast contains some ingredients that are concerning to vegans. These ingredients are milk, sugar, gelatin and Vitamin D3.

Milk may come from animals or plants. It is not specified where the milk in Cinnamon Toast Crunch is from so we can assume that it is from animals. Animal-derived milk is a problem for vegans not only because it comes from animals, but also because of ethical reasons. 

Cows are forced to give birth once a year so that they may produce milk. Furthermore, calves are separated from their mother and kept in small cages where they are given hormones and sold so they may be slaughtered. 

Sugar processed with bone char is not vegan. Bone char is animal bones, mainly cattle bones, burnt at extremely high temperatures until they are a powder-like substance. This substance is used to filter and purify cane sugar and that gives it its white color. 

Gelatin is not vegan because it is made from burning animal bones, skin, tendons, cartilage and ligaments.

Vitamin D3 may be derived from lanolin, which is sheep’s wool, or lichen which is vegan. 

Final Thoughts

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not vegan-friendly because it contains milk, sugar, gelatin, and Vitamin D3. It is unclear whether the Vitamin D3 and sugar in the cereal are vegan but gelatin and milk are definitely not vegan. It is best that vegans find cereals that are completely vegan and contain purely vegan ingredients.

If you would like to find out more about Cinnamon Toast Crunch, you can visit the official website on www.cinnamontoastcrunch.com.

Leave a Comment