Home » Food » Is Barilla’s Pasta Vegan-Friendly?

Is Barilla’s Pasta Vegan-Friendly?

If you’ve enjoyed a plate or two of pasta in your lifetime, then maybe you’re wondering whether the largest pasta-selling company is vegan.

Barilla is a food company found in Italy that makes pasta. The company that started out in 1877 as a small pasta shop, has grown to become the leading brand used in restaurants and homes worldwide.

They company makes various types of pasta including:

  • Angel hair
  • Fettuccine
  • Linguine
  • Spaghetti

But can vegans get a plate to go? Continue reading to find out.

Is Barilla Pasta Vegan-Friendly? 

The answer is: No

Vegans too can partake in Barilla’s pasta as they have no traces of animal ingredients within the product, however, Barilla’s pasta is made in the same facility as other products that contain eggs. This may be of concern to some vegans and for this reason, we believe that Barilla Pasta is not vegan friendly.  Always check the label and ingredients list before purchasing this brand of pasta.

What Is Barilla Pasta Made Of?


Protein+™ Elbows: Semolina (Wheat), Durum Wheat Flour, Lentil Flour, Pea Protein, Chickpea Flour, Barley Flour, Spelt Flour, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Iron (Ferrous Sulfate), Vitamin B1 (Thiamine Mononitrate), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Folic Acid. THIS PRODUCT IS MANUFACTURED ON EQUIPMENT THAT PROCESSES PRODUCTS CONTAINING EGGS.

Allergen Values (FDA)
Contains: Wheat, Cereals w Gluten

Free From: Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Milk, Fish, Molluscs, Crustacean, Soy

Why Is Barilla Pasta Vegan-Friendly?

The ingredients in Barilla’s pasta are not from animal sources. It is also free from animal cruelty. Barilla used to include Palm Oil in their ingredients. But in 2016, Barilla started promoting sustainable agriculture by reformulating 150 of its recipes. This is so they could remove the oil from their ingredients. This is a plus in the vegan community. The mass production of palm oil in tropical areas has endangered the habitats of many animals. 

Although the pasta has no animal sources, Barilla has never claimed that its products are vegan. In fact, all their boxes have the same statement: May Contain Eggs. You might be wondering why Barilla has cautioned that the product may contain eggs if none of the ingredients are animal-sourced. Their products are made in the same facility as products that contain eggs. In order to make the public aware of possible cross-contamination, they include this statement on the boxes.

Barilla’s Pasta has been working to remove eggs from some of their other products though. Their Protein Plus originally had eggs in the ingredients. A press release in February 2020 confirmed that they have since removed the ingredient. They instead source their protein from lentils, chickpeas, and peas. The President stated that this was to provide for those who lead a plant-based life but want more protein.

We are always monitoring trends and looking to offer products that fit our consumers’ needs, and in this case, we focused on those that lead a completely plant-based lifestyle, but want more protein.

Jean-Pierre Comte, President of Barilla Americas

Vegans should note though that their website has included in the description that Protein Plus Pasta runs on the same line with products that have eggs. 

Final Thoughts

The Barillas Company continues looking for ways that it can support the environment and healthy living. Their pasta is proof of this. They are vegan-friendly and free from animal cruelty. They get a pass in our book.

For more information on Barilla Pasta, and this Italian multinational food company head over to: https://www.barilla.com/en-us

Leave a Comment