Home » Drink » Is Baileys Vegan-Friendly?

Is Baileys Vegan-Friendly?

Baileys Irish Cream is an Irish whiskey and cream-based liqueur. The process for making Bailey is kept top secret and each bottle takes 2 years to make. It is produced and bottled exclusively in Ireland by Diageo at Nangor Road.

Baileys is classified as The World’s Best-selling Cream Liqueur, with a declared alcohol content of 17% by volume.

The are various flavors to choose from such as:

  • Original Irish Cream
  • Almande
  • Chocolat Luxe
  • Salted Caramel
  • Strawberries & Cream
  • Espresso Creme
  • Red Velvet Cupcake
  •  Pumpkin Spice
  • Minis
  • Iced Coffee Latte

For many, Baileys is enjoyed in cocktails, drizzled over ice cream, swirled into coffee or simply poured over ice.

But is it vegan? Let’s find out;

Is Baileys Vegan?

The answer is: No

Milk and other dairy products such as cream are primary ingredients in the Baileys Irish Cream and therefore it is not suitable for vegans.

Why is Baileys Not Vegan-Friendly?

Baileys contains products that are non-vegan such as milk, cream, and cane sugar. 

The milk in Baileys products is sourced from cows and the cream is a dairy product made from the higher-fat layer of milk that is skimmed off the top before homogenization. In unhomogenized milk, the less dense fat eventually rises to the top.

To make cane sugar, Sugarcane stalks are crushed to separate the juice from the pulp before being refined into sugar. After that, the juice is processed, filtered, and bleached with bone char. The white found in sugar is actually from bone char. Although cane sugar does not contain any bone char particles, it is non-vegan by virtue of it being in contact with the substance. 

What To Know Before Taking Another Sip Of Baileys Irish Cream

What To Know Before Taking Another Sip Of Baileys Irish Cream

Final Thoughts

Baileys is not vegan-friendly because many of its products contain milk and other dairy items, as well as sugar. However, if you would really love to try out this brand, not all hope is lost because Baileys does have a vegan product. Baileys Almande is a dairy-free, almond drink that is a blend of almond and vanilla flavor. It can be enjoyed with various desserts and drinks.

To find out more about Bailey’s products, as well as recipes you can try Almande drink with, head over to the Baileys official website www.baileys.com

Leave a Comment