Home » Food » Is A1 Sauce Vegan-Friendly?

Is A1 Sauce Vegan-Friendly?

You’ve just flipped over your veggie burgers on the grill and you’re wondering if your A1 Sauce can be the vegan-friendly topping to make your meal a hit.

Ironically, this sauce was initially intended for meats. But with changes in the demands of customers, they ended up having to make sure everyone knew that this sauce went with “almost everything”. But does it go with a vegan diet? Continue reading to find out.

Is A1 Sauce Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

A1 Sauce has no ingredients from animal sources, so it is suitable for vegans to eat.

What is A1 Sauce Made Out Of?

A1 Original Sauce
A1 Original Sauce

Nutritional Facts


A1 Original Ingredients: Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Vinegar, Corn Syrup, Salt, Raisin Paste, Crushed Orange Puree, Spices, Dried Garlic, Caramel Color, Dried Onions, Potassium Sorbate (to Preserve Freshness), Xanthan Gum, Celery Seed.

Why is A1 Sauce Vegan-Friendly?

A1 Sauce is vegan-friendly as it has no ingredients that come from animal sources. It is suitable for a vegan diet.

Although the parent company of A1, Premier Foods, is not a vegan company, they are a driving force in maintaining the welfare of animals and ensuring their suppliers do the same. Their animal welfare policy ensures that all animals receive the following freedoms:

  • freedom from hunger and thirst;
  • freedom from discomfort;
  • freedom from pain, injury, or disease by preventing or quickly diagnosing
  • freedom to express normal behavior
  • freedom from fear and distress which includes ensuring that animals are treated in a manner that is not
  • mentally stressful and;
  • freedom to undergo positive experiences

They measure their welfare standards against the Business Benchmark on Farm Animal Welfare (BBFAW) which is a global industry animal welfare benchmark.

They have also made commitments in participating in environmentally sustainable practices. This includes their promise to have 100% of their packaging be recyclable, reusable, or compostable by the end of 2025. They have made a further commitment to remove especially harmful plastics like PVC and PS from their portfolio by the end of this year (2020).

Final Thoughts

A1 Sauce has no animal-sourced ingredients, so we give it the go-ahead in our books. Its parent company is taking care of the animals they use for their products that aren’t vegan by enforcing animal welfare policies. They are also being kind to the earth by reducing the amount of plastic it has to contend with. So, go ahead and drizzle that sauce all over your veggie burgers!

Click here for more information on A1 Sauce

Leave a Comment