7Up is an American brand of lemon-lime-flavored non-caffeinated soft drinks.
Sometimes we look for that fizzy drink that can liven up lunch or even refresh us through a warm day, so you may be wondering whether 7Up is that vegan-friendly fizzy drink for you?
Between the original lemon-lime, the cherry flavored and the lemon-lime zero sugar, we can understand why you want to know if this drink is right for you. So, is 7Up vegan-friendly? Continue reading to find out.
Is 7Up Vegan?
The answer is: YES
7Up has no listed ingredients which are animal-sourced. This makes it a suitable soft drink for vegans to consume.
What is 7Up Made Of?
7 Up Ingredients
7Up is made from the following Ingredients: Filtered Carbonated Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Potassium Citrate, Natural Flavors, Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)
Why is 7Up Vegan-Friendly?
The ingredients in 7Up do not have any ingredients that come from animal sources. Natural Flavors can be made from both animal and plant sources. 7Up has not disclosed however what sources they use. Stricter vegans will avoid ingredients containing natural flavors to be safe.
It might not be a good idea to have this soft drink become usual in your diet, however. The sugar content per serving amounts to 38 grams. This is more than the daily intake that is recommended by the American Heart Association.
A diet rich in sugar exposes you to risks of diseases such as diabetes and obesity. As a vegan diet is generally geared toward health it will be good practice to drink sparingly. You could even try the zero-sugar variation that not only gives you zero grams of sugar but also zero calories! Definitely a win-win.
While not the healthiest beverage in the aisle, 7Up is heading towards being good for the environment. Keurig Dr. Pepper, the owner of the 7Up brand has committed to ensuring that their packages are 100% recyclable and compostable by 2025. They also intend to send zero waste to landfills by 2025. More products that don’t go to landfills contribute to addressing the effect of climate change.
7Up is vegan-friendly as it has no animal-sourced ingredients. What it does have though is enough sugar to last you the entire day. We prefer you at your best self but who said you couldn’t have a swig from time to time? You can enjoy that bottom with the assurance that you’ve made the vegan-friendly choice.
For more info: https://www.7up.com/en