Home » Snacks » Are Wheat Thins Vegan-Friendly?

Are Wheat Thins Vegan-Friendly?

You may want to know if Wheat Thins are vegan-friendly.

Wheat Thins are wheat crackers that are enjoyed as a healthy snack. It is popular due to its lack of artificial colors and flavors. In addition to the original, there are different varieties for you to enjoy such as:

  • Reduced-Fat
  • Tomato & Basil
  • Hint of Salt
  • Ranch
  • Multigrain
  • Cracked Pepper and Olive Oil

Even though there are many varieties to choose from, can it add that special variety to your vegan diet? Continue reading to find out.

Are Wheat Thins Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

Most of the varieties of Wheat Thins are vegan-friendly except for the ranch flavor. Wheat thins Ranch includes animal-based ingredients such as whey, buttermilk and lactose, and cheddar cheese powder.

Why Are Wheat Thins Vegan-Friendly?

Original Wheat Thins and most of its varieties do not contain animal-based ingredients are suitable for vegans to eat.

Nutritional Facts


Wheat Thins Original

Wheat Thins Original Ingredients: Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Canola Oil, Sugar, Cornstarch, Malt Syrup (From Corn And Barley), Salt, Refiner’s Syrup, Leavening (Calcium Phosphate And Baking Soda).

Which Wheat Thins Are Not Vegan?

Wheat Thins Ranch has animal-sourced ingredients and must be avoided. None vegan-friendly Ingredients include:

Whey is the liquid substance that remains once milk is processed into cheese. As it is an animal product. It is not suitable for vegans. Other milk-based ingredients included in this variety are:

Buttermilk – This is the liquid that remains after churning butter. It is mostly made by injecting enzymes into milk.

Cheddar Cheese Powder – This is made from uncultured milk.

Natural Flavor can be made from both animal and plant sources. It is included in both the Ranch and Sundried Tomatoes varieties. However, in the Sundried Tomatoes, Wheat Thins has listed celery as the source of the natural flavor. In the Ranch variety, it does not state whether it is made from animal or plant sources. Strict vegans will often choose to avoid having products that have this ingredient.

Lactose is the natural sugar that is found in milk. As it is a product that is derived from animals, vegans will not have products containing this ingredient.

Final Thoughts

Most of the varieties of Wheat Thins are vegan-friendly. They don’t have animal-sourced products. You only have to avoid the Ranch variety as it contains milk and its derivatives. Otherwise, go ahead and toss some in a dish for you and the family to enjoy.

For more information head over to: https://wheatthins.com

Leave a Comment