Home » Food » Are Wendy’s Fries Vegan-Friendly?

Are Wendy’s Fries Vegan-Friendly?

Are you eager to know if Wendy’s Fries are vegan-friendly?

Wendy’s Fries is a fast-food restaurant that first opened its doors in 1969. Based in Columbus, Ohio, Wendy’s Fries has grown to over 1,000 outlets worldwide. The restaurant chain is widely known for its old-fashioned hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, french fries, fresh salads, and frosty desserts.

But are Wendy’s Fries vegan-friendly? Let’s find out in a bit…

Are Wendy’s French Fries Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: No

No. Wendy’s French Fries are not vegan-friendly. Whereas Wendy’s Fries are natural-cut potatoes fried in vegan oil, there is a possibility of cross-contact with other non-vegan foods such as hamburgers, chicken, and onion tanglers.

Why Are Wendy’s Fries Made Of?


French Fries: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains One Or More Of The Following Oils: Canola, Soybean, Cottonseed, Sunflower, Corn), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (To Maintain Natural Color). Cooked In Vegetable Oil (Soybean Oil, Vegetable Oil [May Contain One Or More Of The Following: Canola, Corn, Or Cottonseed], Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Dimethylpolysiloxane [Anti-Foaming Agent]). Seasoned With Sea Salt. COOKED IN THE SAME OIL AS MENU ITEMS THAT CONTAIN WHEAT, MILK, AND FISH.

Salt: Sea Salt.

Why Are Wendy’s Fries Not Vegan?

Wendy’s fries are typically vegan as they consist of fresh-cut potatoes fried in vegan-friendly oil. However, as a result of sharing fryers, cross-contamination of animal related products is possible.

We provide known instances of allergens; however, cross contact is possible due to common handling and preparation areas in our restaurants. We are unable to guarantee that any menu item can be completely free of allergens. Customers with allergies and sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.  For more information on food allergies, you can review the Food Allergy Research & Education website at http://www.foodallergy.org.


On the other hand, Wendy’s advocates for animal welfare by ensuring animals are treated well and with dignity. They provide a safe and comfortable environment for animals, protecting them from injury and disease. Wendy’s takes great effort and commitment to cushioning animals from pain.

Interestingly to note, Wendy’s takes an intentional approach to animal health and well-being. It defends animals from cases of abuse, neglect, and mistreatment. They believe every animals’ instinct deserves respect. 

Possibility of cross-contamination risk. 

Since Wendy’s produces non-vegan foods, there is a risk of cross-contamination. Foods such as hamburgers and chicken nuggets are non-vegan.

Initially, Wendy’s had separate fryers that cooked their vegan foods. However, in 2019, they introduced to their menu an Onion tangler topping that contains milk. The onion tanglers cook in the same fryer as the fries. 

Final Thoughts

Ultimately, Wendy’s fries are not vegan-friendly. Even though Wendy’s fries consist of natural-cut potatoes fried in vegan-friendly oil, there is a possibility of cross-contact with other non-vegan foods such as chicken nuggets. And this is due to their shared fryers. For this reason, Wendy’s fries are not considered vegan.

Visit Wendy’s website for more information: https://www.Wendy’s.com/

Leave a Comment