Home » Snacks » Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly?

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly?

You might be wondering whether Welch’s Fruit Snacks are vegan-friendly.

The gummy fruit-filled snacks are a hit with children and animals alike. What’s more, they are bagged inside a convenient little package for you to take it anywhere and have a munch or two. With its attractive colors and sweet flavors, it is easy to understand why they’re so popular. The current list of flavors include:

  • Mixed Fruit
  • Berries ’n Cherries
  • Island Fruits
  • Superfruit Mix
  • Strawberry
  • Apple Orchard Medley
  • Citrus Medley
  • Fruit Punch
  • Concord Grape
  • Mixed Fruit – Reduced Sugar
  • Berries ’n Cherries – Reduced Sugar

But can it sit in the vegan-friendly aisle with all our other snacks? Continue reading to find out.

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan?

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, Welch’s Fruit snacks contain gelatin which is an animal-sourced ingredient. Also, ingredients in the snack such as Red 40 and artificial flavors expose animals to cruelty.

What is Welch’s Fruit Snacks Made Of?

Welch’s Mixed Fruit Snack Nutritional Facts

Ingredients: Fruit Puree (Grape, Peach, Orange, Strawberry, And Raspberry), Water, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Inulin (From Chicory Root), Modified Corn Starch, Gelatin, Concord Grape Juice From Concentrate, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Natural And Artificial Flavors, Alpha Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Vitamin A, Palmitate, Sodium Citrate, Coconut Oil, Carnauba Wax, Annatto (color), Turmeric (Color), Red 40, And Blue 1.

Why Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Not Vegan-Friendly?

Welch’s Fruit Snacks

Gelatin is made by boiling the tissues, bones, and ligaments of animals. Although gelatin can also be made from non-animal sources, Welch’s has confirmed that their gelatin is sourced from pork and beef. So, this is not suitable for vegans to eat.

Natural Flavors can be made from either plant-based or animal-based sources. Welch’s has not stated which of these sources they use. Strict vegans tend to avoid food containing these products, however, to err on the side of caution.

Artificial colors such as red 40 are vegan-friendly in that they are not made from animal-sourced ingredients. However, dyes like these are tested on animals to ensure their safety for humans. These animals are later euthanized as testing can produce fatal and painful side effects. If you are vegan because you are concerned about the safety of animals, it is best to avoid food containing artificial colors.

Unlike artificial colors that are frequently tested on animals, artificial flavors are mostly tested in their initial introduction into the market. Nevertheless, animals are still used as test subjects to ensure their safety for humans.

Final Thoughts

The only reassurance we can give is that Welch’s plastic packaging is recyclable which means it helps to protect our sea animals from suffocating on these hazardous materials. It also helps to keep our beaches clean.

However, the fact remains that these sweet, fruity snacks are not vegan-friendly. They contain animal-sourced ingredients as well as products that expose animals to cruelty. You will have to look for a snack more suitable for your vegan diet.

For more information head over to: https://welchsfruitsnacks.com

Leave a Comment