Home » Snacks » Are Walkers Crisps Vegan-Friendly?

Are Walkers Crisps Vegan-Friendly?

Every now and then you may find yourself in the mood for some deliciously crunchy crisps. As a vegan though, it is not as simple as going to the grocery store and reaching for any random brand of crisps. This is because you first have to ensure that they are vegan-friendly.

Walkers Crisps were first manufactured in 1948 by Henry Walker. They are quite popular in Britain with the brand dominating 56% of the British crisp market. 

Are Walkers Crisps Vegan?

The answer is: Yes

Now, this is a tentative yes because although there are some Walkers Crisps flavors that are vegan-friendly, not all the flavors are. 

Why Are Walkers Crisps Vegan-Friendly?

The flavors that are vegan-friendly are:

  • Ready Salted
  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Prawn Cocktail
  • Marmite
  • Roast Chicken
  • Worcester Sauce
  • Pickled Onion
  • Salt & Shake

These flavors mentioned above do not contain any products from animal sources and can be freely enjoyed by you.

Let us now get into which flavors are not vegan and why.

Cheese & Onion – not vegan as it contains dried milk whey, lactose, flavoring, and cheese powder. Dried milk whey is derived from whey, a product that is derived in the making of cheese. Lactose is non-vegan because it is a sugar found in milk. Flavoring consists of animal byproducts and cheese powder is made from cheese that has been dried. Cheese is an animal byproduct made from milk. 

Beef & Onion flavor – not vegan-friendly because it contains dried milk lactose and flavoring. These two ingredients are not vegan because of the reasons mentioned above. 

Smoky Bacon – not vegan because it consists of dried milk lactose, an animal derivative. Tomato Ketchup contains dried milk whey, a non-vegan product sourced from milk. And finally, Spicy Sriracha has sour cream powder, an ingredient sourced from milk which is an animal byproduct and is non-vegan.

Final Thoughts

Walkers Crisps have been around for generations and are still widely popular. We are happy that vegans can also take part in the fun and indulge in these crisps, as long as you take note not to eat the non-vegan flavors.

It is also worth noting that this company is environmentally conscious. It has sustainability measures in place that ensure that our beautiful planet is not harmed in the production of these crisps.

For more information please visit www.walkers.co.uk

Leave a Comment