Home » Snacks » Are Tyrrells Crisps Vegan-Friendly?

Are Tyrrells Crisps Vegan-Friendly?

Tyrrells Crisps are hand-cooked potato crisps manufactured in England. These crisps promise to only use the finest spuds and absolutely no artificial ingredients such as artificial flavors, colors, or MSG. They also guarantee plenty of flavor from carefully selected seasonings and a fresh crunchy texture. This all sounds so promising and delicious but are Tyrrells Crisps vegan-friendly?

Are Tyrrells Crisps Vegan?

The Answer Is: No

Tyrrells Crisps are not vegan-friendly because all the various flavors contain ingredients sourced from animals or animal byproducts.

Why Are Tyrrells Crisps Not Vegan-Friendly?

Vegans have to think twice before eating these crisps because they contain milk, sugar, natural flavors, lactose, mature cheddar cheese powder, molasses powder, dehydrated cooked chicken, buttermilk powder, and sour cream. Let us dig deeper into these ingredients to discover what Tyrrells is made of and why there not vegan-friendly.

Let us first take a closer look at sugar.

Sugar is a problematic ingredient because it is frequently treated with bone char, which is a substance made from animal bones. This is then used to filter sugar and is what gives it its white hue. Sugar that has been prepared in this manner is not vegan because of the interaction it has with bone char. It is unclear how the sugar in Tyrrells Crisps is filtered but assuming that it is filtered in this manner, it is non-vegan.


Cows are the most prevalent source of milk, which is an animal derivative. Vegans should therefore avoid it at all costs. Similar to milk, lactose is a type of sugar found in dairy products and is also non-vegan. Natural flavor can be sourced from both plants and animals. It is also unclear where this product’s natural flavor comes from. 

Mature cheddar cheese powder

Just from its name, we can easily deduce that mature cheddar cheese powder is sourced from cheese, an animal byproduct made from milk, and is not vegan. Much like sugar, molasses powder is quite complex. Bone char is also used in its refining processing which in turn makes it non-vegan.

Other ingredients to be aware of

Dehydrated cooked chicken is chicken that has been cooked and then dehydrated and is not vegan-friendly. And finally, both buttermilk powder and sour cream are made from milk. Assuming that animal milk and not plant milk are used in this product, they are non-vegan.

Final Thoughts

Tyrrells Crisps pride themselves in producing home-cooked crisps with natural flavorings. However, these products are not vegan-friendly as they contain animal byproducts, we can only hope that this will change in the future.

For more information please visit tyrrellscrisps.co.uk.

Leave a Comment