Home » Snacks » Are Twizzlers Vegan-Friendly?

Are Twizzlers Vegan-Friendly?

Are you curious to know if Twizzlers are vegan? 

Twizzlers are an all-American candy that started off being sold in movie theatres to accompany popcorn and has now become a part of American culture.

According to urban legend, Neil Armstrong (the first man on the moon) said in space, “I could go for some Twizzlers right now” after his famous “one giant leap for mankind” quote.

Strawberry Twists, introduced in 1977, are their most famous flavor. 

Other popular favors include:

  • Apple
  • Cherry
  • Pull and Peel
  • Rainbow
  • Lime

Most Twizzlers flavors are kosher certified by the Orthodox Union. By now, you’re probably wondering if Twizzlers are vegan. Let’s see…   

Are Twizzlers Candy Vegan-Friendly?

The Answer is: No 

No. Believe it or not, Twizzlers are not vegan-friendly. Twizzlers have non-vegan ingredients like white sugar, palm kernel oil (although a small amount), artificial colors, and natural flavors which have been tested on animals. 

What Are Twizzlers Made Of?


Twizzlers Ingredients

Ingredients (Strawberry Twist): Corn Syrup, Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid), Sugar, Cornstarch, Contains 2% or Less of: Salt, Artificial Flavor, Mono and Diglycerides, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Artificial Color (Red 40), Mineral Oil, Soy Lecithin, Glycerin.

Why Are Twizzlers Not Vegan?

Twizzlers do not list major animal products like gelatine in their ingredients but do have ingredients that cause concern for the vegan community: 

  • Unethical sourcing of palm oil: Palm kernel oil plantations compromise the environment as not only do animals lose their homes, the planet is more at risk to greenhouse gasses, increasing annual greenhouse gas emissions by 15 – 20%.
  • The famous Strawberry Twists contain carmine: Carmine, or E120, (“natural red”) is sourced from crushed and boiled bugs.
  • Bone char is used to bleach white sugar: Bone char is made from crushed cattle bones. 

In addition to the banning of animal-derived ingredients, Veganism is against animal-cruelty, and vegans avoid the consumption of products that have been cruel to animals anywhere in their production process.

Final Thoughts

Twizzlers contain ingredients that are bad for the environment, and bad for animals. As you can see, Twizzlers are not cruelty-free.

Red Vines, an alternative to Strawberry Twists, states that they are vegan-friendly but this is unconfirmed.

For more on Twizzlers, head to this website.

Leave a Comment