Home » Snacks » Are Takis Vegan-Friendly?

Are Takis Vegan-Friendly?

Takis are rolled corn tortilla chips made after Mexican taquitos, making you immediately assume that Takis is vegan.

There are over nineteen different flavors, based on different spices, and this popular spicy and sour snack has people eating them non-stop.

The most popular flavors are:

  • Takis Fuego
  • Takis Nitro
  • Takis Crunchy Fajitas
  • Takis Guacamole
  • Takis Blue Heat

You’re probably wondering if you can eat Takis while vegan. Let’s find out…

Are Takis Chips Vegan?

The Answer is: No

No. Unfortunately, Takis are not vegan-friendly. Takis do not contain animal derivatives but have Red 40 food coloring which is tested on animals. It is also important to note that all Takis is made in a facility that may also use milk and eggs, meaning that there is also a cause for concern that these animal-derived ingredients can contaminate the process.

What Are Takis Made Out Of?

Takis Fuego Chips

Takis Ingredients

Takis Fuego Chips: corn masa flour (processed with lime), vegetable oil (palm and/or soybean and/or canola oil and/or rice bran oil ), seasoning [salt, maltodextrin, citric acid, sugar, monosodium glutamate, hydrolyzed soy protein, onion powder, yeast extract, artificial color (red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake), natural and artificial flavors, baking soda, soybean oil, chili pepper (chile), disodium inosinate, disodium guanylate, tbhq (antioxidant)].

CONTAINS SOY
MADE IN A FACILITY THAT MAY ALSO USE MILK, EGG, WHEAT, AND PEANUTS

Why are Takis not Vegan?

Takis are plant-based, and without seasoning, the corn snack is vegan. But, some flavors contain milk and eggs, and they owe their red and yellow color to animal-tested food coloring.

  • Animal derivatives: Takis flavors like Guacamole, Xplosion, and Crunch Fajitas have milk and eggs in their seasonings.
  • Red 40 food coloring: the Zombie, Nitro, Salsa Brava, and Fuego Takis do not contain animal derivatives, but contain coloring that is animal-tested.
  • Yellow 5 & 6: All the chips have Yellow 5 and 6 food coloring, which is also tested on animals.

Veganism also excludes products that damage the environment and harm animals. Ingredients that involve animal testing are not considered vegan.

Vegan20.com

Final Thoughts

Takis are a widely consumed snack and they have found great success in the USA; Barcel USA has won the Nielsen 2014 US Breakthrough Innovation Award for its sale of Takis.

But, the above reasons show how Takis are not vegan-friendly. Even though they are plant-based, and contain no animal-derived ingredients, Takis contain ingredients that cause harm to animals and to the environment.

To find out more about Takis, go here. https://barcel-usa.com/takis

Leave a Comment