Home » Restaurant Options » Are Taco Bell’s Fries Vegan Friendly?

Are Taco Bell’s Fries Vegan Friendly?

Taco Bell’s is a US favorite for Mexican food. It delivers many vegan options, such as the ability to switch meat fillings in their burritos and tacos with potatoes. They even have a vegetarian menu that is certified by the American Vegetarian Association. It is consistently being updated by the restaurant as they find innovative plant-based varieties for their customers. So, can vegans have some fries with that? Continue reading to find out. 

Are Taco Bell’s French Fries Vegan?

The Answer is: YES

The ingredients in the fries are vegan. They do not have animal-sourced ingredients. However, there is a chance of cross-contamination with meat products in the Taco Bell kitchens.

What Are Taco Bell Fries Made Of?

Taco Bell Fries

The Ingredients in Taco Bell Fries are: [1. Seasoning, Mexican Rice] Salt, Tomato Powder, Spices {(Paprika, Chilli, Cumin, Black Pepper), Onion Powder, Flavoring (Thermal process flavorings (WHEAT)], Unmodified Starch (Maize) Garlic Powder (Sulphites), Red Bell Pepper Powder, Green Bell Pepper Powder, Color (Paprika Extract E160c) Acid (Citric Acid E330), Flavor Enhancer. [2. Oil, Frying (100% Rapeseed):] Vegetable Oil (Rapeseed), Antifoaming agent (E900) [3. French Fry] Potatoes, Sunflower oil, Dextrose, Stabilizer: diphosphate. 

Why Are Taco Bell’s French Fries Vegan-Friendly?

The fries have no animal-sourced products. But the restaurant warns that some of their restaurants may use the same oil that is used to prepare meat items on their menu. They also state that they are unable to guarantee that cross-contact with meat items does not occur. 

Taco Bell has dedicated a blog post to show vegans what their options are and how they can switch up their order to make it vegan, however, it is reinforced here that they cannot guarantee that there is no cross-contamination.

Why Americans Love Taco Bell

Final Thoughts

Taco Bell has joined the fight for sustainability to protect the environment. They have advised of a worldwide-branch impacting plan to make all of its “consumer-facing” packaging recyclable, compostable, or reusable by 2025. They also hope to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 46% in the next fifteen years. 

The good news is that Taco Bell is always updating its menu to include more options that are animal-friendly. Recently, the company has teamed up with Beyond Meat. They have begun to work on products that have plant-based protein. The dubbed, “Cravetarian” menu option has already hit some of its branches. 

The Seasoned Fries at Taco Bell are vegan-friendly. If you’re okay with the possibility that your chips may get contaminated with meat products, then you can add them to your vegan favorites the next time you stop by the restaurant.

For more information on Taco Bells and to check out the vegan friendliness of the rest of their menu, head over to the official website here: http://www.tacobell.com

Leave a Comment