Home » Food » Are Pop-Tarts Vegan-Friendly?

Are Pop-Tarts Vegan-Friendly?

Pop-Tarts are toaster pastries by the American Kellogg company. They were originally called “Fruit Scones” but after Andy Warhol’s Pop-Art, the name changed. They were created as a reimagined toast and jam as a rectangular, toaster-ready treat.

The first Pop-Tarts were strawberry, blueberry, brown sugar cinnamon, and apple currant, and frosting, and this has expanded into dozens of other flavors including the popular frosted range. 

The current best-selling flavors are frosted strawberry and brown sugar cinnamon. Other popular flavors include:

  • Frosted Cherry
  • Frosted Blueberry
  • Frosted Chocolate Chip
  • Frosted S’Mores
  • Frosted Cinnamon Rolls

If you’re a vegan, can you eat Pop Tarts? Let’s find out… 

Are Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts Vegan-Friendly?

The Answer is:  NO 

No. Unfortunately, Pop-Tarts are not vegan-friendly. Pop-Tarts contain gelatine, milk powder, and/or eggs, and other non-vegan ingredients like white sugar, palm kernel oil, artificial colors, and natural flavors. 

What Are Pop-Tarts Made Of?

Pop Tarts

Pop-Tarts Ingredient

Frosted Strawberry Pop-Tarts: Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, dextrose, soybean, and palm oil (with TBHQ for freshness), sugar
bleached wheat flour (contains two percent or less of wheat starch), salt, dried strawberries, dried pears, dried apples, leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), citric acid, gelatin, modified wheat starch, yellow corn flour, caramel color, palm oil, xanthan gum, cornstarch, turmeric extract color, soy lecithin, red 40, yellow 6, blue 1, color added

Why Are Pop-Tart Not Vegan?

Pop-Tarts with frosting are not vegan as different flavors have milk powder, eggs, and/or gelatin. On the other hand, flavors that do not have known animal products in them also contain non-vegan ingredients:

  • Red 40, blue 1 & 2, and yellow 6: Are artificial colors, and they are tested on animals. 
  • Palm kernel oil harms animals and the environment: For this reason, the use of this oil contradicts vegan values. 
  • Natural flavors are not vegan-friendly: There is uncertainty as to whether “natural flavors” are plant or animal-based, as this is not stated on the ingredient list. Vegans should therefore avoid Pop-Tarts because of this added ingredient. 
  • White sugar: Bone char, made from crushed cattle bones, is an essential ingredient in the process of whitening sugar. 

To combat the un-intentional endorsement of non-cruelty-free products, it is safer to stay away from Pop-Tarts.

Final Thoughts – Can Vegans Eat Pop Tarts?

Pop Tarts have been immensely successful ever since they were released. A much-needed breakfast snack, they have been in-demand for decades, adapting to market needs. 

However – white sugar, palm kernel oil, and natural flavors are notoriously detrimental to conservation and animal rights. Not only does white sugar require animal bones for its color, but vegans are also skeptical that the natural flavoring in Pop-Tarts is plant and not animal-derived. 

Furthermore, the palm kernel oil industry has contributed to deforestation – the permanent removal of animal habitat. 

The above information proves that Pop-Tarts have animal ingredients in them and they are not suitable for vegans.

For more on Pop-Tarts, head to the Kellogg’s website:

Leave a Comment