Home » Snacks » Is Oreo Vegan-Friendly?

Is Oreo Vegan-Friendly?

An Oreo is a global, American snack. In its classic form, it is a cookie sandwich with two chocolate wafers and a creamy vanilla filling.

More recently, the vanilla wafer has been introduced instead of chocolate. The first Oreo was sold in 1912 in New Jersey, and the famous snack has a signature “OREO” stamp on the design of each cookie.

If you want to know if you can eat Oreo Cookies, while living the vegan lifestyle, you’re in the right place.

Let’s see if this classic American cookie is actually vegan-friendly…

Are Oreos Vegan?

The Answer is: NO

No. Unfortunately, Oreos are not suitable for Vegans. While there is no dairy in this “chocolate” cookie, and the “cream” is made from soya, the cookies may contain traces of milk protein due to cross-contact at the factory. 

What are Oreos Cookies Made Of?

Oreo is made from the following ingredients and nutrients:

Oreo Cookie Ingredients and Nutrition Facts
Oreo Cookie Ingredients and Nutrition Facts

Oreo Cookies Ingredients:

Ingredients: nabisco oreos (unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, palm oil and/or canola oil, cocoa (processed with alkali), high fructose corn syrup, leavening (baking soda and/or calcium phosphate), salt, soy lecithin, chocolate, artificial flavor.

Allergens: wheat, soy bean

The DARK Secret of Oreos

Why are Oreos Not Vegan?

Oreos are not vegan because of “cross-contact”. This is when two products come into contact through traces found on the factory equipment, and a small amount of their proteins mix.

According to the official Oreo website:

Oreos have milk as cross-contact and therefore are not suitable for vegans,


So, while the ingredients of an Oreo do not have animal products, the cookies contain traces of milk protein due to cross-contact at the factory.

Veganism excludes all animal products, including food that is processed using such products.


So, Oreos are not vegan-safe because they contain traces of milk.

Final Thoughts

The vegan lifestyle is adhered to for a variety of reasons, including health, environmental, and/or ethical factors. Some snacks that seem harmless become non-vegan because of how they are made. 

While other branches of vegetarianism accommodate Oreos, unfortunately, Oreos cannot be part of a vegan diet. But, there is an Oreo vegan alternative recipe that is just as tasty and that you can make from the comfort of your own kitchen.

For more information on Oreos as well as access to a list of homemade recipes, head over to the official website here: https://www.oreo.com/

Leave a Comment