Home » Snacks » Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly?

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan-Friendly?

Do you have a sweet tooth and would love to find out if Mott’s Fruit Flavored Snacks are vegan-friendly?

Mott’s Fruit Flavored Snacks are a combination of real fruit and vegetable juice with various fruit flavors. They are manufactured by the Mott’s brand which is situated in Texas. They were first sold in 2010 and have a total of two fruits and vegetable servings per 8 oz. glass. There are five delicious flavors of fruit snacks under this brand namely:

  • Assorted Fruit 
  • Berry
  • Tropical
  • Assorted Fruit Plus Fiber
  • Fruity Rolls

Mott’s Fruit Flavored Snacks promise to give you “100% of your daily value of Vitamin C” per serving.  By now you are probably wondering if Mott’s Fruit Flavored Snacks are as healthy as they promise and if they are vegan-friendly. Continue reading to find out.

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan?

The Answer is: No

Mott’s Fruit Snacks contain sugar and natural flavor. Mott’s Fruit Snacks (Fruity Rolls) also contain dairy, egg, seafood, and fish. 

What Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Made Out Of?

Nutritional Facts

Ingredients

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Pear Juice Concentrate, Apple Juice Concentrate, Sweet Potato Juice Concentrate. Contains 2% or Less of: Citric Acid, Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Fruit Pectin, Sodium Citrate, Malic Acid, Color (Vegetable Juice, Fruit Juice, Annatto Extract, and Turmeric Extract), Sunflower Oil (Adds a Trivial Amount of Fat), Natural Flavor, Carnauba Wax.

Why Are Mott’s Fruit Flavored Snacks Not Vegan-Friendly?

Mott’s Fruit Snacks are not vegan friendly primarily because of sugar and natural flavors. Sugar is sometimes non-vegan because of the filtration process it goes through. Bone char is sometimes used in this process by firstly heating it until it is a powder-like substance. The bone char is then used to filter the sugar. 

Natural flavor may either be derived from plants or animals.

Mott’s Fruit Rolls are non-vegan because they contain sugar, natural flavor, dairy, egg, mollusks and seafood.

Dairy

Dairy is not vegan for both nutritional and ethical reasons. Dairy is a byproduct of cows. Furthermore, some vegans are against the treatment cows undergo in order to produce milk. Cows are often forced to get pregnant once every year so that they may produce milk. Calves are often separated from their mothers and forced to live in small cages. They are pumped with hormones and are sometimes sold to be slaughtered. 

Eggs

Hens are also often forced to reproduce under harsh and unethical conditions.

Final Thoughts

 Because it is unclear whether the sugar and natural flavor found in Mott’s Fruit Snacks is vegan or not, it is best we assume that it is non-vegan. Mott’s Fruit Rolls contain dairy, eggs, and seafood and that is what makes them non-vegan.

For more information on Mott’s Fruit Snacks, visit the official website on: www.motts.com/products/fruit-snacks.

Leave a Comment