Home » Food » Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan-Friendly?

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan-Friendly?

Have you ever wondered if Krispy Kreme is vegan-friendly?

Krispy Kreme is an international chain of doughnut shops that has been making delicious donuts since 1937. Krispy Kreme is known for its signature glazed doughnut that is traditionally served warm. They have over 1000 locations across the world, selling a wide variety of donuts.

Let’s find out Krispy Kreme is vegan-friendly or not…

Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: YES

(CURRENTLY ONLY AVAILABLE IN THE UK)

You’ll be glad to know that Krispy Kreme is vegan-friendly. In January 2021, Krispy Kreme launched its very first Krispy Kreme original glazed vegan donuts. However, Krispy Kreme is currently only available in the UK. Krispy Kreme does not make vegan donuts in the USA or anywhere else in the world at this moment in time.

What are Krispy Kreme Donuts Made Out Of?

Ingredients

Original Non-vegan version (USA): Doughnut (enriched Wheat Flour (wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Palm Oil, Soybean Oil, Sugar. Contains 2% Or Less Of Each Of The Following: Yeast, Soy Lecithin, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Mono And Diglycerides, Salt, Wheat Gluten, Monocalcium Phosphate Monohydrate, Bht, Dried Milk Powder, Egg Yolks, Cellulose Gum, Calcium Propionate (to Maintain Freshness), Lecithin, Oat Fiber, Ascorbic Acid, Sorbitan Monostearate, Tocopherols); Glaze (sugar, Water, Corn Starch, Palm Oil, Calcium Sulfate And/or Calcium Carbonate, Agar, Dextrose, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Salt, Disodium Phosphate, Locust Bean Gum And/or Mono And Diglycerides).

Why Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan?

Krispy Kreme is best known for its wide variety of flavourful, fluffy glazed donuts. However, it has been producing non-vegan donuts ever since it started operations in 1937. As time changed and more people adopted a vegan lifestyle,

Krispy Kreme joined the vegan movement and launched its first Krispy Kreme original glazed vegan donut. Interestingly, it has maintained its signature light and fluffy, melt-in-the-mouth experience.

But what makes Krispy Kreme donuts vegan-friendly?

The Krispy Kreme vegan donuts are made of plant-based ingredients. The fact that they do not contain milk, butter, and eggs, makes them suitable for vegans.

Unfortunately, the Krispy Kreme vegan donuts are exclusively available in the UK. Currently, other store locations might not have access to this vegan donut goodness.

US vs UK Krispy Kreme

According to Krispy Kreme, the new vegan doughnuts have “the same great taste,” as its original 1937 recipe, as well a “light and fluffy” texture and its trademark sugary glaze.

Final Thoughts

Since 1937, Krispy Kreme has been making donuts not suitable for vegans. Lately, they did launch their first Krispy Kreme original vegan donut, which is vegan friendly. These fluffy-melt-in-the-mouth vegan donuts do not contain any form of animal products such as milk, butter and eggs. Krispy Kreme original glazed vegan donut is acceptable for a vegan diet. However, at the moment, this vegan donut is only available in the UK.

Learn more about Krispy Kreme from their website below:
https://www.krispykreme.co.uk

Leave a Comment