Home » Snacks » Are Kind Bars Vegan-Friendly?

Are Kind Bars Vegan-Friendly?

You need to know if Kind Bars are vegan-friendly and we’re going to help you find out. Kind Bars are granola bars containing a variety of nuts and flavors to give you a wholesome kickstart to your day or maybe to your lunch. They have a wide range of flavors including:

  • Almonds & Apricots in Yogurt
  • Almond & Coconut
  • Blueberry Vanilla & Cashew
  • Apple Cinnamon & Pecan
  • Peanut Butter & Strawberry
  • Dark Chocolate & Sea Salt
  • Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate

But what’s more important is finding out whether these nutty bars can be added to your vegan diet. Continue reading to find out. 

Are Kind Bars Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: No

Unfortunately, all flavors of Kind Bars contain honey which is animal-sourced. The other ingredients which occur in some of the flavors are milk and whey. 

What Are Kind Bars Made Of?

Nutritional Facts

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Snack Bars - Kind Bars
Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Snack Bars – Kind Bars


The Ingredients for the Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate flavor are: peanut, almonds, honey, sugar, non-GMO glucose, soy protein isolate, palm kernel oil, cocoa powder, peanut butter, chicory root fiber, tapioca starch, vanilla, whole milk, soy lecithin, salt.

Why are Kind Bars Not Vegan-Friendly?

All the granola bars contain honey which is an animal-sourced ingredient. It is made from plant nectar and enzymes within the bees’ bodies. So, it is unsuitable for vegans to eat. 

There are other animal-sourced ingredients that are included in some of the other varieties. 

  • Milk: Milk is an animal by-product taken largely from cows and so it is not vegan-friendly. 
  • Whey: Whey is the liquid substance formed after cheese is processed. As it comes from an animal by-product, it is not vegan-friendly. 
  • Natural Flavor: Natural flavor can be made from both animal and plant sources. The Kind company has assured though that their natural flavors are made from spice, fruit, or fruit juices.
  • Palm Kernel Oil: While neither palm oil nor palm kernel oil is animal-sourced, the harvesting of these oils exposes animals to cruelty. The mass production of palm trees has caused severe deforestation problems in tropical areas which have caused animals to be moved out of their natural habitat. Vegans who are concerned about the safety and protection of animals should avoid eating products that contain this ingredient. 

The company has stated however that as a member of the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO), they have committed to only sourcing their palm oil from RSPO suppliers to ensure that the palm oil in their products is sustainably sourced. Sustainably sourced palm oil would mean that deforestation and disturbance of the ecosystem do not take place as a result of harvesting. 

Final Thoughts

Our verdict is that Kind Bars haven’t been very kind to animals. They are not vegan-friendly because they have animal-sourced ingredients such as honey, milk, and whey. If you’re vegan, you should avoid eating this product.

For more information on Kind Bar and each and every variery, head over to Kindbars.com

Leave a Comment