Home » Snacks » Candy » Are Halls Cough Drops Vegan Friendly?

Are Halls Cough Drops Vegan Friendly?

Would you like to pop one of those Halls Cough Drops to calm that sore throat? I bet you would if they were vegan-friendly. These drops with the single active ingredient, menthol is popular for their assistance with a bad cough and sore throat. They come in various flavors including:

  • Cherry
  • Strawberry
  • Peppermint
  • Honey-Lemon
  • Black Cherry

But is it okay if a vegan uses these drops to make that awful cold just a little bit more bearable? Continue reading to find out. 

Are Halls Cough Drops Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: Yes 

Most of the flavors of Halls Cough Drops are vegan-friendly as they have no animal-sourced ingredients. The flavors that are not vegan-friendly are Honey-Lemon and Honey-Lemon Chamomile. 

Halls Cough Drops Ingredients

The Ingredients for Hall Cough Intense Cool are: Menthol 15 mg, Citric Acid, Eucalyptus Oil, FD&C Blue 1, Flavors, Glucose Syrup, Potassium Citrate, Soy Lecithin, Sucrose, Water

Why Are Halls Cough Drops Vegan-Friendly?

Halls cough drops are vegan-friendly as the ingredients in most of their flavors do not contain ingredients that are animal-based. This makes it suitable for vegans. 

Honey-Lemon and Honey-Lemon Chamomile are not vegan-friendly as they contain honey which is an animal by-product. Honey is made from a mixture of plant nectar and enzymes within bees’ bodies. As it is made from the secretions of an animal it is not animal-sourced and is therefore unsuitable for vegans to eat.

Many flavors of Hall Cough Drops contain artificial colors such as blue 1 and red 40. Artificial colors do not contain animal products. However, they expose animals to cruelty during testing. These dyes have to be tested in order to get approval as safe for human consumption by the FDA. These tests are done on animals that are later euthanized as they often get fatal side effects from testing. If you’re a vegan concerned about animal welfare, then you should avoid products with artificial colors. 

Mondelez International, the owner of Halls Cough Drops released a statement in 2020 that there already 93% on track of meeting their goal to have 100% of their packaging be recyclable by 2025. 

Final Thoughts

Halls Cough Drops are vegan-friendly as they have no animal-sourced ingredients. Two flavors however are not suitable for vegans: Honey-Lemon and Honey-Lemon Chamomile. They contain honey which is an animal by-product. But if you steer clear of these flavors you can go ahead and clear up that sore throat with one or two of these lifesavers.

For more info: https://www.gethalls.com

Leave a Comment