Are you wondering if Fruit Gushers are vegan-friendly?
The fruit snack was introduced in 1991. It rose in popularity until 2013 when it was ranked in Complex Magazine as the second-best fruit snack of all time. The name came from the burst of fruit flavor in the middle of the chewy snack that “gushes” when you take a bite. Its sweet taste and variety of flavors may have you wondering, “are Fruit Gushers Vegan-Friendly?” Don’t worry we’re going to gush on the details! Continue reading to find out.
Are Fruit Gushers Fruit Snack Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: Yes
Fruit Gushers is guaranteed vegan-friendly and is not made from animal by-products.
What Are Fruit Gushers Made Of?
Fruit Gushers is made out of the following ingredients:
Variety Pack: Strawberry splash sugar, corn syrup, dried corn syrup, pear puree concentrate, modified corn starch, fructose, maltodextrin, palm oil. contains 2% or less of: cottonseed oil, glycerin, grape juice concentrate, carrageenan, citric acid, monoglycerides, sodium citrate, malic acid, vitamin c (ascorbic acid), natural flavor, potassium citrate, agar-agar, red 40, xanthan gum. tropical flavors sugar, corn syrup, dried corn syrup, pear puree concentrate, modified corn starch, fructose, maltodextrin, palm oil.contains 2% or less of: cottonseed oil, glycerin, grape juice concentrate, carrageenan, citric acid, monoglycerides, sodium citrate, malic acid, vitamin c (ascorbic acid), natural flavor, potassium citrate, agar-agar, xanthan gum, color (red 40, blue 1, yellow 5 & 6).
Why Are Fruit Gushers Vegan?
Fruit Gushers are not made from animal by-products. The ingredients found in a bag are pears from concentrate, sugar, dried corn syrup, corn syrup, modified corn starch, fructose, and grape juice from concentrate. As you can see, the ingredients have no animal products. They are actually missing a lot of ingredients that candy usually has.
The truth is, Fruit Gushers had artificial coloring and flavoring when it was first made. But in 2017, General Mills removed them from this and other fruit snacks. This is likely after a heated lawsuit that came against General Mill’s in 2014. They were being sued for having misleading packaging. The packages often showed pictures of fruit when oftentimes, little to no fruit was included in the product. The case was settled outside of court but the packaging for Fruit Gushers remained. As you can see from the ingredients list fruit is now listed as the main ingredient.
That may put the candy in good Grace’s with vegans because many are wary when it comes to artificial flavoring and colors. A lot of the dye used, such as Red40, is tested on animals in order to be FDA approved. So kudos to General Mills for changing their formula!
The proof is in the pudding. Or in this case, it’s gushing out of a fruit snack. Fruit Gushers are guaranteed vegan-friendly! It has no animal by-products and no artificial coloring or flavoring. So you can drop a few in a bowl at your next dinner party to sweeten things up. Or just pop some in your mouth to satisfy that sweet tooth. This sweet treat gets a pass in our book.
For more information on Fruit Gushers, check out this page over at the manufacture’s website: