Home » Food » Are Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan-Friendly?

Are Frosted Mini-Wheats Vegan-Friendly?

Are You Curious to Know If Frosted Mini-Wheats Are Vegan-Friendly?

Frosted Mini-Wheats are shredded wheat cereal pieces and frosting that make perfect breakfast cereal. Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats comprises of seven flavors, namely:

  • Bite-Size
  • Blueberry
  • Chocolate
  • Original
  • Pumpkin Spice
  • Strawberry
  • Cinnamon Roll

However, are Frosted Mini-Wheats vegan friendly? Let’s unearth!

Are Frosted Mini-Wheats Cereal Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: No

You’ll be astonished to know Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan friendly. Frosted Mini-Wheats contain gelatin, a protein that comes from the skins and bones of pigs, cows. Therefore, gelatin makes Frosted Mini-Wheats not vegan friendly.

There is also an assumption that the controversial ingredients present in Frosted Mini-Wheats are vegan. They include sugar, natural flavors, and color.

What is Frosted Mini Wheats Made Of?

Frosted Mini Wheats are made from the following ingredients and nutrients:


Ingredients (original): Whole grain wheat, sugar, contains 2% or less of brown rice syrup, gelatin, BHT for freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Reduced iron, folic acid.

Nutrition Facts

Servings Per Container About 7

Serving Size 1 Cup (56 g)

Amount Per ServingCerealwith 3/4 cup skim milk
Calories190  260
 % Daily Value*% Daily Value*
Total Fat1 g1%1 g1%
Saturated Fat0 g0%0 g0%
Trans Fat0 g0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat0 g0 g
Monounsaturated Fat0 g0 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%<5 mg1%
Sodium10 mg0%85 mg4%
Total Carbohydrate47 g17%56 g20%
Dietary Fiber6 g22%6 g22%
Soluble Fiber<1 g<1 g
Insoluble Fiber5 g5 g
Total Sugars11 g21 g
Includes 11g Added Sugars11 g22%11 g22%
Protein5 g4%11 g16%
Vitamin D0 mcg0%2.2 mcg10%
Calcium10 mg0%230 mg15%
Iron18 mg100%18 mg100%
Potassium200 mg4%490 mg10%
Folate(235 mcg Folic Acid)400 mcg100%405 mcg100%

*The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.

Why Are Frosted Mini-Wheats Not Vegan-Friendly?

Frosted Mini-Wheats are not vegan friendly because they contain gelatin.  Since Frosted Mini-Wheats contains gelatin, it is not vegetarian (gelatin is made from collagen which comes from animal bones and fat).

Even though producing gelatin does not cause harm to the environment, has zero waste, and uses less energy and raw materials, the fact remains that the raw ingredients are derived from animals.

Vegans find the process of making gelatin cruel and is not sensitive to the welfare of animals.

Final Thoughts

Frosted Mini-Wheats cereal is known worldwide and consists of shredded wheat cereal pieces and frosting. It’s a favourite breakfast option among kids as well as adults.

These sweet and crunchy cereal are said to keep you fuller for longer.

Frosted Mini-Wheats contain gelatin. The process of producing gelatin consists of boiling the bones and skins of cows and pigs. Since gelatin is an animal-derived product, its inclusion in the Frosted Mini-Wheats makes it unsuitable for a vegan diet.

Check out the Frosted Mini-Wheats website for more information: https://www.frostedminiwheats.com/en_US/home.html

Leave a Comment