Home » Restaurant Options » Are Carl’s Jr Fries Vegan-Friendly?

Are Carl’s Jr Fries Vegan-Friendly?

Carl’s Jr. Restaurants LLC is an American fast food restaurant chain operated by CKE Restaurant Holdings, Inc., with franchisees around the world.

Carl’s Jr Fries restaurant is known for leaving the skin on the potatoes to add to the popular crispiness and flavor of its fries. The fries come in two styles: Criss-Cut and Natural -Cut. The Criss-Cut offers an interesting waffle-shaped design to add some variety to your day, while the Natural -Cut is promised to be of premium quality by the restaurant. 

The great thing about Carl’s Jr is that they have a few menu options catered for vegans and vegetarians. This includes plant-based burgers called the Beyond Burger. But are the fries one of those vegan-friendly choices? Continue reading to find out. 

Are Carl’s Jr French Fries Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: Yes

Yes! The ingredients in Carl’s Jr Fries don’t include animal-sourced products, however, it includes palm oil, an ingredient that is not animal cruelty-free. 

Carl’s Jr Fries Ingredients

Carl’s Jr Fries


Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (may contain one or more of the following: Canola Oil, Sunflower Oil, Cottonseed Oil, Palm Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil), Modified Food Starch, Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum. Fried In: Vegetable Oil (Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil with TBHQ and Citric Acid to protect flavor, Dimethylpolysiloxane (as an antifoaming agent)).

Why Are Carl’s Jr Fries Vegan-Friendly?

None of the ingredients have products from animal sources. However, Cal’s Jr has advised that all menu items are prepared in the same kitchen, and cross-contamination may occur as a result. 

Palm Oil is vegan, however, the mass production of palm oil has caused great distress to animals in tropical countries. The deforestation in these areas has caused many animals to lose their homes. Ethically speaking, palm oil is not vegan-friendly. 


Vegans may have to take this with a grain of salt. Literally. The salt content in each serving of Carl’s Jr Fries is at alarming levels. One serving accounts for 35% of your daily sodium intake that is recommended by the American Heart Association. It might be a good idea to watch the portions you have this side snack in. The calorie content is also something that you may need to monitor. One serving of these fries can add up to 410 calories. 

While the fries are vegan-friendly there is a chance that cross-contamination happens. This is because they are prepared in the same kitchen as the meat ingredients. 

Palm Oil, while it is vegan, is not vegan-friendly ethically. Depending on the strictness of your vegan diet you may have to decide on whether these fries are right for you. On the brighter side, there are plenty of options in the plant-based menu options at this restaurant.

For more information go to: https://www.carlsjr.com/en

Leave a Comment