Home » Snacks » Are belVita Biscuits Vegan-Friendly?

Are belVita Biscuits Vegan-Friendly?

If you’re thinking of a healthy, well-balanced breakfast or brunch, chances are your meal includes some whole-grain biscuits. Out of the many brands and varieties out there, belVita biscuits are among the most popular and beloved ones.

The crunchy snacks range from cranberry-flavored to chocolate-based biscuits and are considered healthy and highly nutritional in value, as well as excellent options for those looking to have a quick bite or on-the-go breakfast.

If you’re interested in belVita biscuits, you may be wondering if they are vegan friendly; Let’s take a deep breath and let’s find out …

Are belVita Biscuits Vegan?

The answer is: Yes (Kind of)

Well, most people would agree on the answer is yes. BelVita breakfast biscuit lines do not use any dairy products, nor do they contain any direct animal-based ingredients. The whole-grain cookies are also relatively healthy, with low to null percentages of sugar and fat.

Still, here’s where the question gets tricky. While almost all of the biscuits belVita produces are said to be “organic,” there are some aspects we have to keep in mind…

What is belVita Made Of?


BelVita Crunchy is made from the following ingredients:

Ingredients for Toasted Coconut – Whole Grain Blend (Rolled Oats, Rye Flakes), Enriched Flour [wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid], Sugar, Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Canola Oil, Toasted Dried Coconut, Malt Syrup (From Corn And Barley), Invert Sugar, Baking Soda, Soy Lecithin, Disodium Pyrophosphate, Datem, Salt, Natural Flavor, Ferric Orthophosphate (Iron), Niacinamide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1).
Contains: Wheat, Soy

Why are belVita Biscuits Good for a Vegan Diet?

Some of the questions that concern vegans looking to buy belVita biscuits are whether the sugar included in these products was treated with bone char. Bone char can be a grey area for vegans, as the sugar itself only comes into contact with it and does not contain the bone char on itself.

Mondelez International, the company that runs belVita, does not disclose if the sugar on the biscuits was bleached with bone char. Another thing that is important to note is that belVita has a wide and diverse biscuit selection. Among these, you can find: 

  • The Crunchy Line: All crunchy belVita biscuits can be classified as vegan and have low-sugar content.
  • The Soft-Baked Line: Although mostly vegan, the line includes protein and milk chocolate flavors. These are not vegan, as they contain milk, eggs, or other dairy products.

The good news? The sugar in the products is often promoted as organic, which would rule out the involvement of bone char.

Final Thoughts

BelVita biscuits have become an essential part of many people’s diets, as they are perfect for a quick bite or healthy snack that you can take anywhere.

Although the biscuits are not labeled as such, they can be considered accidentally vegan, as their ingredients do not contain animal-based products.

There’s a slight possibility the sugar on them came into contact with bone char, but apart from that, belVita biscuits are fit for a vegan diet!

For more information: https://www.belvitabreakfast.com

Leave a Comment