If you love a good pretzel, you might be wondering, ” Are Auntie Anne’s Pretzels Vegan Friendly?”
For a pretzel whose dough was created by accident, it’s amazing to see how today the treat is loved by many. There are more than 400 shops internationally. Some of the countries on Auntie Anne’s train are Colombia, New Zealand, and Thailand. Auntie Anne must be doing something right! But is she doing it right for vegans? Continue reading to find out.
Are Auntie Anne’s Vegan-Friendly?
The answer is: No
Sorry folks, Auntie Anne’s Pretzels are not vegan-friendly. There are animal sources found within the pretzels. These include milk and eggs.
What are Auntie Anne’s Pretzel made of?
ORIGINAL PRETZEL: Wheat, Soy, Milk
May include trace, or intentional amounts of milk, eggs, wheat, soy, peanuts, and tree nuts.
Why Are Auntie Anne’s Pretzel Bad for Vegans?
Auntie Anne’s Pretzels contains ingredients that are by-products of animals. One of these ingredients is whey. Whey is the liquid that remains after milk has been curdled and strained. It isn’t one of the main ingredients, but it is listed on the package as the source for the pretzels’ natural flavor. There are some vegans that don’t consider whey to be a threat to their vegan diet. It seems that Auntie Anne has the same thinking. They have written on their website that all the customer has to do, is to order the pretzels without butter for them to be vegan-friendly.
Another product that is included in Auntie Anne’s Pretzels, is butter. Butter is made by churning milk or cream. This process separates the fat from the buttermilk. Milk and cream are both by-products of animals which is why it is not vegan-friendly.
On the bright side, Auntie Anne’s commitment to the underprivileged is worth mentioning. The majority of her store locations package the pretzels that haven’t been sold. They are then donated to charity. The company has donated 16.2 million pretzel products in the fight against world hunger and food waste. The details of which they have written here.
Auntie Anne’s Pretzels are not vegan-friendly. The company has provided an option for vegans who don’t have any issues with whey. The customer has to ask that their pretzels be made without butter. Vegans may want to turn down a bite of the savory treat. But you might take comfort in the fact that the company provides food for people that are without it. Vegans will have to pick another treat from the many vegan options available!
For more information on Auntie Anne’s Pretzels check out the official website here: https://www.auntieannes.com