Home » Restaurant Options » Are Arby’s Fries Vegan-Friendly

Are Arby’s Fries Vegan-Friendly

Are you wondering if Arby’s Fries are vegan-friendly?

The restaurant makes its fries in two styles: Curly and Crinkle. The fries include a wide range of seasonings to set them apart in taste. The taste isn’t the only thing that’s different.

Arby’s is famous for the interesting shapes that their fries take. As their name suggests, the curly fries are curled into spirals while the crinkle is crimped to perfection. But can the fries match the vegan-style diet? Continue reading to find out. 

Are Arby’s French Fries Vegan-Friendly?

The answer is: No.

No, the ingredients used to make the fries don’t contain animal products. However, Arby’s fries them in the same oils used to fry foods with animal products in them. For this reason, it can’t be considered vegan-friendly.

What Are Abby’s Fries Made Of?

Arbys Fries


The ingredients for Arby’s Fries include: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (contains one or more of the following: canola oil, soybean oil, cottonseed oil, sunflower oil, Corn Oil, Palm Oil), Enriched Bleached Flour, Salt, Corn Starch, Onion Powder, Yellow Corn Meal, Spices, Garlic Powder, Leavening, Modified Corn Starch, Dextrose, Spice and Coloring, Natural Flavor, Dried Torula Yeast, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate.

Cooked in Vegetable Oil. 

Why Are Arby’s Fries Not Vegan-Friendly?

The ingredients have no animal products listed. Arby’s makes a disclaimer under each of the fries. They warn that the fries are fried using the same oil as other items that contain egg, milk, or fish. This brings the product in contact with animal-sourced ingredients. It, therefore, is not vegan-friendly. 

Menu item is cooked in the same oil as other items that contain egg, milk, soy, fish (where available).

Arby’s: https://www.arbys.com/menu/sides/curly-fries/

Palm Oil is also listed as an ingredient. It is vegan as it comes from the palm plant. However, Palm Oil production has caused massive deforestation. This causes many animals to lose their homes. Mass production is therefore exposing the wildlife to animal cruelty. As vegans value the lives of animals, products that contain pal il are not suitable for them. 

Natural Flavor is sometimes made from animal products instead of plants. That means vegans shouldn’t eat products containing this ingredient. It is important to note though that Arby’s haven’t confirmed whether animal or plant products are used in the natural flavor.

Final Thoughts

Vegans will have to pass on the Arby’s side dish. The fries are fried in the same oil as products that have animal-sourced ingredients. Also, the ingredients include Palm Oil. This ingredient is being mass-produced in tropical countries causing major deforestation. This removes animals from their natural habitat. Vegans care for the safety of animals so this is an overall no for the community. You might have to stick with that main dish you’ve whipped up for now!

For more information on Arby’s, go to the official website here: https://www.arbys.com/

Leave a Comment